Skip to Main Content
College of Arts and Sciences
twoColumn twoLeft

Advisory Board

Advisory board members are industry professionals who share their time and expertise with our faculty and students, ensuring we keep our curriculum up-to-date with the latest industry developments.

Advisory Board Chair: 

Angela Spears, President, Angela Spears Communication


  • Co-Chair for Advertising: Celia Weeks, Vice President, Director of Human Resources, St John & Partners
  • Kerry Baldwin, Digital Industry Consultant and Advisor, Agentz
  • Carole Vanderhoef Banks, VP Research & Planning, Shepherd Agency
  • Ryan Blair, Chief Operating Officer, Mad Men Marketing
  • Neal Boornazian, President, HBT Marketing
  • Daniel Burstein, Senior Director, Content & Marketing, MarketingSherpa and MECLABS Institute
  • Brendan Cumiskey, President, Dalton Agency
  • John Daigle, Principle, Daigle Creative
  • Craig Davenport, Creative Services Director, Cox Media Group
  • Jennifer Garavaglia, Digital Marketing Manager, Jacksonville Jaguars
  • Erin Gordon, Partner, Fisher Design & Advertising
  • Michael Sharp, Former Managing Director, Local Agency & Scarborough Nielsen
  • Gina Stoney, Executive Vice President, Mad Men Marketing
  • Tuan Tu, Founder, CMO at Covet Branding, LLC
  • Kim Vermillion, COO/Founder, Brunet-Garcia Advertising

Multimedia Journalism & Production

  • Co-Chair for Multimedia Journalism & Production: Kathryn Bonfield, News Director, WJXT-TV Channel 4
  • Henna Bakshi, Writer/Producer, Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.
  • Neal Bennett, Senior Talent Acquisition Partner, Scripps Journalism Initiative
  • George Birnbaum, CEO/Founder, Gemstone Media
  • Gary Corbitt, retired Research Director, WJXT/Post-Newsweek Stations
  • Timothy Gibbons, Editor in chief, Jacksonville Business Journal
  • Robbie Gordon, Producer, Primetime & 20/20, ABC News
  • Ashley Greer, Executive Producer, Action News Jax, CBS47, Fox30
  • Tenikka Hughes, Anchor, Action News Jax, CBS47, Fox30
  • Bruce Kaufman, Director, Broadcasting Business Affairs, PGA Tour
  • John Laurence, Founder and Executive Producer, Empowerment Media, Inc. 
  • Bridgette Matter, Reporter/Anchor, Cox Media Group
  • Mike McCormick, Group News Director, Sinclair Broadcast Group
  • Mike Miller, retired Director of External Affairs, Jacksonville Transportation Authority
  • Mary Kelli Palka, former Editor/Market Leader, Florida Times-Union
  • Jason Ramsey, Principal, Nimble Creative Services
  • Paul Runnestrand, Editor, The Florida Times-Union
  • Anne Schindler, Host, First Coast Connect, WJCT
  • Staci Spanos, News Anchor, WJXT
  • Gary Spurgeon, Owner, Studio Podcast Suites
  • Thomas Stallings, Communications Specialist, St. Johns County

Public Relations

  • Co-Chair for Public Relation: Liz Anderson Slobodian, Vice President of Public Affairs, Firehouse of America, LLC
  • Toni Boudreaux, Director of Operations, The Brumos Collection
  • James Crichlow, Marketing & Communications Director, Atlantic Logistics
  • Gerri Boyce, retired Special Assistant to CEO, External Communications, JEA
  • Samantha Cheney, Senior Copywriter, Mad Men Marketing
  • David Clark, Executive Director, Downtown Ecumenical Services Council
  • Maria Coppola, CEO & President, Coppola Public Relations
  • Donia Crime, VP, Corporate Communications, Landstar Systems, Inc.
  • Rachel Harris, Co-Founder, Social Beans Creative Agency
  • Lanette Hart, Principal, Hart & Associates
  • Rebecca Hart, President, Hart & Partners
  • Mary Harvey, Founder & CEO, Agency a la Carte
  • Trish Kapustka, Principal Consultant, TLK Communications
  • Vikki Mioduszewski, Manager, Marketing & Communications, Wolfson Children's Hospital and Baptist Health
  • Jason Mudd, CEO, Axia Public Relations
  • Marsha Oliver, Vice President, Community & Inclusion, PGA Tour, The Players Championship
  • Kasandra Ortiz, Communications Director, St. Johns County Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller
  • Kayla Poe, Account Executive, Sachs Media 
  • Ronnesha Rodgers, Manager, GME Education Program Coordinator, Mayo Clinic

Communication Studies

  • Nicole Cassis, Vice President of Communication, Newfold Digital
  • Ashton Elder, Marketing Coordinator, EXIT 1 Stop Realty
  • Aja Franco, Senior Recruiter (Technology), Robert Haft Talent Solutions
  • Jackie Heller, Account Coordinator, Business Builders
  • Audrey Seymour, Communications Manager, Mayo Clinic Cancer Center
  • David Wisehart, Associate Implementation Manager, Veracross