Skip to Main Content
College of Arts and Sciences
twoColumn twoLeft

News and Events

Fall 2023

  • BSW student Teleauba Revels (left) was recognized with the Albert D. Ernest Jr. Caring Award, and MSW student Destiny Basden (right) was among four finalists. 

  • Educational Linguistics published research by anthropologist Dr. Jessica Chandras on using conditional language and hypotheticals in the classroom.  
  • Dr. Jessica Chandras was featured in the UNF Spotlight.
  • Jacksonville Today shared sociologist Dr. David Jaffee’s expertise on the affordable housing crisis. 
  • Drs. Jessica Chandras, Rosa de Jorio, and Jonathan Grant were awarded a UNF Academic Technology grant.
  • Dr. Rick Phillips participated in a UNF panel on the integration and implications of Generative AI in academia. 
  • Dr. Yolanda Machado-Escudero was featured in a podcast interview with Changemaker Foundation.
  • MSW student Kyaa McClennon was featured in Inside UNF.
  • Drs. Jasmine Haynes and Jonathan Grant participated in a Hip Hop panel discussion—one of several events organized by Dr. Grant and co-sponsored by SASW to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Hip Hop.

Hip Hop Panelists

  • Drs. Jacqueline Meier and Keith Ashley were awarded a 2023-24 Jim Van Vleck Teaching Excellence Award.
  • The Florida Times-Union highlighted Drs. Denise Bossy and Keith Ashley’s incredible work on compiling the story of the indigenous Mocama tribe of Northeast Florida.
  • News4Jax featured sociologist Dr. David Jaffee discussing a housing discrimination lawsuit. 
  • Drs. Denise I. Bossy and Keith Ashley were awarded a three-year $250,000 Collaborative Research Grant funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities to write the first comprehensive Indigenous history of Northeast Florida from 13,000 years ago to the present.
  • Drs. Denise Bossy and Keith Ashley were awarded a UNF Foundation Grant for their project “Visualizing Indigenous History Northeast Florida.”
  • Professor Jennifer Barr was appointed to the Council on Social Work Education's Council on Disability and Persons with Disabilities.

Summer 2023

Spring 2023

  • Popular Science and Science Daily highlighted how archaeologist Dr. Jackie Meier is uncovering clues on how the people in Greece’s Mycenaean civilization lived.
  • UNF celebrates National Social Work Month
  • News4JAX and WJCT News shared analysis from sociologistDr. David Jaffee who examined the impacts of corporate investors on the local housing market.
  • Dr. Jessica Chandras was awarded a NAEd/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship Award.
  • Drs. Jessica Chandras and Jasmine Haynes were selected to participate in the UNF Center for Community-Based Learning’s 2023-2024 Community Scholars Program.
  • Drs. Jessica Chandras, Rosa de Jorio, and Jonathan Grant were awarded a 2023-2024 Community Engagement Research Fellowship by the UNF Center for Community-Based Learning.
  • Sydney Chatani was recognized as the Outstanding Sociology Student of 2022-2023.
  • Magdalynne A. Alley was recognized as the Outstanding Anthropology Student of 2022-2023.
  • Khelsea Boyd (Social Work) and Katie Jones (Sociology) received Spring 2023 Osprey Community Engagement Medallions.
  • Drs. Keith Ashley and Denise Bossy received a 2023-2024 UNF Foundation Grant for their project Visualizing Indigenous History Northeast Florida.
  • The Northeast Unit of the National Association of Social Workers-Florida Chapter honored UNF students at the 2023 Social Work Month Celebration. Paul Buchanan was recognized as BSW Student of the Year; Ryan Rish was recognized as MSW Student of the Year; and Alana Rollins received the Michael J. Wilson Award for Social Justice.

UNF Social Work Awards

From left to right: Dr. Yolanda Machado-Escudero, Dr. Paul Clark, Professor Ross McDonough, BSW Student Paul Buchanan, MSW Student Ryan Rish, MSW Student Alana Rollins, Dr. Jasmine Haynes, and Dr. Cristy Cummings.