Skip to Main Content
College of Arts and Sciences
twoColumn twoLeft

Contact the Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work Department

Location

We are located in Jacksonville, Florida, a thriving metropolis with a mild climate, abundant opportunities for outdoor recreation, and diverse cultural amenities. As a vibrant changing city Jacksonville also provides us with a living laboratory for our research.

Our department offices are located on the second floor of the Social Sciences building (Building 51). The main office is in room 2304.

Social Work offices are located on the second floor of the Skinner-Jones Hall South building (Building 4, room 2601).

Full-Time Faculty

Name Position Email Phone Room Number
Keith Ashley, PhD Assistant Professor of Anthropology kashley@unf.edu (904) 620-3869 51/1206
Jennifer Barr, MSW Instructor of Social Work & BSW Program Director jennifer.barr@unf.edu (904) 620-5488 4/2613
Mandi Barringer, PhD Assistant Professor of Sociology m.barringer@unf.edu (904) 620-3857 51/2227
Paul Clark, PhD Assistant Professor of Social Work & MSW Program Director p.clark@unf.edu (904) 620-5296 4/2609
Cristy Cummings, PhD Assistant Professor of Social Work cristy.cummings@unf.edu (904) 620-5457 4/2612
Rosa de Jorio, PhD Professor of Anthropology & Program Coordinator rdejorio@unf.edu (904) 620-1642 51/2209
David Jaffee, PhD Professor of Sociology & Program Coordinator djaffee@unf.edu (904) 620-2850 51/2219
John Kantner, PhD Professor of Anthropology, Associate VP of Research and Dean of the Graduate School j.kantner@unf.edu (904) 620-4650 1/2010
Ronald Kephart, PhD Associate Professor of Anthropology rkephart@unf.edu (904) 620-1659 51/2211
Ronald Lukens-Bull, PhD Professor of Anthropology rlukens@unf.edu (904) 620-1648 51/2221
Yolanda Machado-Escudero, PhD Assistant Professor of Social Work yolanda.machado@unf.edu (904) 620-4277 4/2614
Ross McDonough, MSW Instructor of Social Work & BSW Field Director ross.mcdonough@unf.edu (904) 620-1653 4/2616
Jacqueline Meier, PhD Assistant Professor of Anthropology jacqueline.meier@unf.edu (904) 620-2850 51/2304
Akanke Omorayo-Adrenrele, MSW Instructor of Social Work & MSW Field Director a.omorayo-adenrele@unf.edu (904) 620-5368 4/2611
Anne Pfister, PhD Assistant Professor of Anthropology a.pfister@unf.edu (904) 620-5335 51/2229
Richard Phillips, PhD Associate Professor of Sociology rphillip@unf.edu (904) 620-2850 51/2233
Gordon Rakita, PhD Professor of Anthropology & Director of Academic Technology grakita@unf.edu (904) 620-1658 53/2105
Juan Salinas, PhD Assistant Professor of Sociology j.salinas@unf.edu (904) 620-3853 51/2225
Jennifer Spaulding-Givens, PhD Associate Professor of Social Work & Chair j.spaulding-givens@unf.edu (904) 620-1640 51/2237
Jenny Stuber, PhD Associate Professor of Sociology j.stuber@unf.edu (904) 620-2850 51/2231
Jeff Will, PhD Professor of Sociology & Director of NEFL Center for Community Initiatives jwill@unf.edu (904) 620-4408 1/1907

Emeritus Faculty

Name Position Email Phone Room Number
Henry Camp, PhD Professor of Sociology hcamp@unf.edu (904) 620-2850 51/2304
Charles Owens, PhD Professor of Criminology & Criminal Justice cowens@unf.edu (904) 620-2850 51/2304
Robert Thunen, PhD Associate Professor of Anthropology rthunen@unf.edu (904) 620-2850 51/2304

Staff

Name Position Email Phone Room Number
Yentl Dunbar Office Manager of SASW y.dunbar@unf.edu (904) 620-2850 51/2304
Dana McCoy Program Assistant of Social Work dmccoy@unf.edu (904) 620-2867 51/2304