Skip to Main Content
Student Government

Student Body President History

UNF's Student Government has a rich history. Founded in 1975, presidential elections were initially held during the spring and fall semesters. It wasn't until 1980 that the first Student Government President, James Pearthree, held office for a full year.
In 2002, UNF's Student Government was codified by Florida Legislature, which recognized the following basic rights:
  • Right to exist.
  • Right to self-govern.
  • Right to hire and appoint its members.
  • Right to administer activity and service fees.
To date, UNF's student body has elected fifty-one presidents and one interim president.
John Grosso is our current Student Government President and University Trustee.
Names and years of every UNF Student Government President since 1975 until 2023.

Office Term

Name of President

2023-2024 John Grosso
2022-2023 Nathaniel Rodefer
2021-2022 Selma Besirevic
2020-2021 Ally Schneider
2019-2020 John Aloszka
2018-2019 Jenna DuPilka  
2017-2018 Thomas Beaucham
2017-2017 Bella Genta
2017-2017 Samantha Mims
2016-2017 Caleb Grantham
2015-2016 Hailey Guerra
2015-2015 Shomari Gloster
2014-2015 Joseph Turner
2012-2014 Carlo Fassi
2011-2012 Matthew Brockelman
2010-2011 Sitou Byll-Cataria
2008-2010 John R. Barnes
2007-2008 Rachel Tutwiler
2006-2007 Justin Damiano
2005-2006 Thomas Foran
2003-2005 Jerry Watterson
2002-2003 Hank Rogers
2001-2002 Lindsay Hodges
2000-2001 Ann Duskin
1999-2000 Alexander Diaz
1998-1999 John Carey
1997-1998 Eric A. Nelson
1995-1997 Josh S. Kuethe
1994-1995 Kerry Heyward
1993-1994 William Hughes
1992-1993 Lavon Banks
1991-1992 Christina (Trina Jennings) Dzrazil
1990-1991 Scott Rogers
1989-1990 Valerie Molina Covington
1988-1989 John M. Walker
1987-1988 Scott M. Francis
1986-1987 William C. Bowen
1985-1986 "Peggy" M. Allen
1984-1985 Jason B. Burnett
1983-1984 B.J. Haimowitz-Brown
1982-1983 Jack M. Nunnery
1981-1982 Frederick M. Wilkinson
1980-1981 James S. Pearthree
1979-1980 Gloria J. Fulvi
1979-1979 James L. Young
1978-1979 Samuel D. Armstrong
1978-1978 Carlton E. Godwin
1977-1978 Joseph E. Smyth
1976-1977 Mary Ann Waters
1975-1976 Embree A. Walker
1975-1975 William Ely