Skip to Main Content
Community-Based Learning

Community Scholars Program

The Community Scholars Program is a professional Community of Practice for UNF faculty members and student affairs professionals with a commitment to Community-Based Transformational Learning (CBTL). Each cohort's experience is designed to enhance practitioners' knowledge of and expertise in CBTL as well as help them develop strategies that support the infusion of CBTL throughout the University. Individuals chosen as Community Scholars are awarded two $1,500 stipends.

Applications for Cohort 16 (AY24-25) are available on January 17, 2024.
Nominations for Cohort 16 (AY24-25) are available until March 21, 2024.

UNF employees who participate in the Community Scholars Program can expect to:

  • increase their professional and community-based social networks;
  • identify their strengths and/or weaknesses as CBTL practitioners;
  • enhance their understanding of the assumptions that shape and the theories behind the best practices of CBTL;
  • view their practice of CBTL pedagogies as proficient and with confidence;
  • share their expertise regarding CBTL with other UNF faculty members and student affairs professionals;
  • understand the role of the community as co-instructor in their practice of CBTL;
  • learn more about community issues, assets, and needs.

UNF's Community Scholars will:

  • Participate in six, three-hour seminars during the fall and spring semesters relating to real issues in CBTL (i.e. instructional design, assessment, university-community partnerships, etc.) or urgent developments important to the expansion of CBTL at UNF;
    1. plan to enhance CBTL instruction elements in an existing course,
    2. a syllabus that adds CBTL instructional elements into a new course, or
    3. product, such as contributing to a collection of short position papers or briefs on CBTL, a CBTL-focused UNF summer research grant proposal, presentation or poster session for a regional or national conference, an external grant proposal supporting CBTL programming, peer-reviewed presentation or publication;
  • Serve as peer consultants regarding CBTL.

For more information about the Community Scholars Program e-mail Dr. Amanda Pascale,

Get to know UNF's Community Scholars

Please expand the sections below to see the participants in each cohort.
  • Cohort 14 (2022-2023)
    Elizabeth Aull, Cora Evansen, Tamara Gibson-Alonso, Jennifer Kilpatrick, Andrew Kozlowski, and Margaret Stewart
  • Cohort 13 (2021-2022)

    Cigdem Akan, Nuria Ibanez, Nilufer Ozdemir, Jenifer Ross, and Sherry Shaw

  • Cohort 12 (2020-2021)
    Mary Grace Amendola, Johanna Barrero, Maria Fernandez Cifuentes, David Hoppey, Gregory Kohn, Emily Maiden, and Amanda Pascale
  • Cohort 11 (2019-2020)
    Denise Bossy, Shinwoo Choi, Charles Closmann, Georgette Dumont, Erin Largo-Wight, Donni Welch-Rawls, and Jennie Ziegler
  • Cohort 10 (2018-2019)
    James BeasleyPaul ArgottJennifer WolffElizabeth BrownJennifer WeselyDeirdre Shoemake, Marnie Jones (Director of the Center), and Kristen Hicks-Roof.
  • Cohort 9 (2017-2018)
    Tina Holland, Traci Mathies, Anita Fuglestad, Judy Comeaux, Jack Hewitt, Tru Leverette and Suzanne Ehrlich
  • Cohort 8 (2016-2017)
    Sherry Pinkstaff,  Lakshmi GoelRadha PyatiJennifer LiebermanCindy CummingsChristian WinterbottomMatthew OhlsonHeather Truelove and Angela Mann
  • Cohort 7 (2015-2016)
    Heather KenneyKristi SweeneyStephen StagonJuan AcerosSusan SyverudEmma Apatu, and Linda Connelly 
  • Cohort 6 (2014-2015)
    Justin Sipes, Chitra L. K. Balasubramanian, Bonnie Pope, Natalie Indelicato, Alan Harris, Leslie Kaplan, Sophie Maxis 
  • Cohort 5 (2013-2014)
    Shana Harrington, Jenny Hager, Lori Lange, Jan Meires, Erinn Gilson, Bryan Bannon, Paul Eason
  • Cohort 4 (2012-2013)
    L-R:  Karthik Umapathy, Bobbi Doggett, Debbie Reed, Jody Nicholson, Connie Roush, Tarah Trueblood, Michelle Boling 
  • Cohort 3 (2011-2012)
    Joy Feria, Marnie Jones, Jennifer Spaulding-Givens, Gigi David, Larry Daniel, Barb Kruger, Mark Workman, Pam Chally, Mark Tumeo, Christopher Johnson, Christopher BrownAjay Samant, Kate Mattingly-Learch 
  • Cohort 2 (2010-2011)
    PeDro Cohen, Mark Falbo,  Mary Lundy, Barbara Olinzock, Martina Perry, Annabel Brooks, Julie Merten, Diane Denslow
  • Cohort 1 (2009-2010)
    Carol Spector, Sejal Parikh,  PeDro Cohen,  Stephynie Perkins, Marcia Ladendorff, Chris Janson, JeffriAnne Wilder,  Mark Falbo, Dan Richard,  Marnie Jones , Jim Crook