Skip to Main Content
Office of Undergraduate Research

Undergraduate Mentor of the Year

2023 Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year

Dr. Ciesielski headshotDr. Szymon Ciesielski

Congratulations to Dr. Szymon Ciesielski, Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of North Florida, on being named the 2023 Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year! Cameron Young, the student who nominated him wrote “I have witnessed firsthand in myself and others the growth his mentorship catalyzes in his research students.  Dr. C indicated that the he expresses a genuine interest in the growth of each student…resulting in an unforgettable mentoring experience. Dr. Ciesielski's award was presented as part of the 2023 Showcase of Osprey Advancements in Research and Scholarship (SOARS), held on Saturday, April 22 on the UNF campus. 

Congratulations Dr. Szymon Ciesielski on this impressive achievement!

Previous Undergraduate Mentors of the Year 

Past Undergraduate Mentor of the Year
Year Winner Department
2023 Dr. Szymon Ciesielski Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
2022 Dr. Kristen Hicks-Roof Department of Nutrition and Dietetics 
2021 Dr. Anne Pfister Department of Anthropology, Sociology, and Social Work 
2020 Dr. Bryan Knuckley Department of Chemistry 
2019 Dr. Terri Ellis Department of Biology 
2018 Dr. Matt Gilg Department of Biology 
2017 Dr. Stephen Stagon School of Engineering 
2016 Dr. Judy Comeaux School of Nursing  
2015 Dr. Matt Gilg Department of Biology
2013 Dr. Amy Lane Department of Chemistry 
2012 Dr. Judith Ochrietor Department of Biology