Pursuant to Florida Statute 1009.24, The LFL program was designed to promote the increasing desire for knowledge among experienced citizens of the First Coast community. The LFL program allows Florida residents for tuition purposes, aged 60 or older, to audit college-level courses with tuition waived.
There is an application deadline; please check with Admissions for the semester's deadline. Applications are available online.
No academic credit shall be awarded for attendance in classes for which fees are waived under Florida Statute section 7.008. This privilege will be granted only on a space-available basis, if such classes are not filled as of the close of registration. Students may begin registration on or after the day before classes start.
The University will waive any or all application, tuition, and associated fees for persons 60 years of age or older who are Florida residents for tuition purposes and who enroll to audit courses being offered for college credit. Tuition and mandatory fees will be waived. Any miscellaneous fees such as lab fees, course materials, parking permits and late registration fees are the student’s responsibility to pay. Also, the student is responsible for tuition and fees if the student registers prior to the LFL registration date.
Pursuant to Florida Statute 1009.265, the University shall waive tuition and associated fees for state employees who qualify.
State employees complete the State Employee Tuition Waiver Form located under the Student Services tab in your MyWings account. It can be found in the Online Forms option. The form will be open only after the date designated for State Waiver employees to register for classes each term (please see the University Academic Calendar).
UNF will verify employment before the waiver is posted to the student’s account.
The Dual Enrollment Program at UNF is also available to high school students enrolled in a home education program. The Dual Enrollment Program is in compliance with Florida Statute 232.02, which regulates home education programs. The appropriate district school superintendent or designee must verify that the student is participating in an approved education program. Home school students must meet the admission criteria outlined above in order to participate in dual enrollment at UNF.
The University shall waive tuition and associated fees for any student who is or was at the time he or she reached the age of 18 in the custody of the Department of Children and Family Services (DCF) or a relative under Florida Statute 39.5085; who was adopted from the Department of Children and Family Services after May 5, 1997; or was placed in a guardianship by a court after spending at least 6 months in the custody of the Department after reaching 16 years of age.
Students must provide a certification of eligibility from Florida DCF (on DCF letterhead) to the Student Financial Services Office located in Ann and David Hicks Hall, Building 53. This waiver is valid for Florida DCF only.
The forms must be submitted to the Student Financial Services Office by the payment deadline for the term as noted on the University Academic Calendar.
Pursuant to Florida Statute section 288.8175, Florida linkage institutes were created to assist in the development of stronger economic, cultural, educational, and social ties between this state and strategic foreign countries through the promotion of expanded public and private dialogue on cooperative research and technical assistance activities, increased bilateral commerce, student and faculty exchange, cultural exchange, and the enhancement of language training skills between the postsecondary institutions in this state and those of selected foreign countries. Each institute must ensure that minority students are afforded an equal opportunity to participate in the exchange.
who are granted a linkages waiver receive a letter from the University or
department issuing the linkage. This
letter must be submitted to the Student Financial Services (SFS) Office located in Ann and David Hicks Hall, Building 53. Sometimes the University or department will send
the letter to the SFS Office on behalf of the student.
The waiver will waive all out-of-state tuition and out-of-state financial aid fee for the semester as indicated on the linkage letter.
Pursuant to Florida Board of Governors regulation 8.014, the University shall waive tuition and associated fees for any student who lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence, excluding university housing, or whose primary nighttime residence is a public or private shelter designed to provide temporary residence for individuals intended to be institutionalized, or a public or private place not designed for, or ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings.
Students requesting a homeless waiver are required to provide proof of homelessness (affidavit from a homeless shelter, for example) to the Office of the Dean of Students (Tom & Betty Petway Hall, building 57, suite 2700) by the payment deadline for the term as noted on the University Academic Calendar.
Students must submit proof of homelessness each semester.
This waiver will waive tuition and associated fees including lab fees. The waiver does not include repeat surcharge or excess hours fees.
Pursuant to Florida Statute 1009.26, the University shall waive undergraduate tuition and associated fees for each recipient of a Purple Heart, or another combat decoration superior in precedence which was awarded for valor.
Students are required to submit to the Student Financial Services Office (located in Ann and David Hicks Hall, Building 53) form DD-214 issued at the time of separation from service as documentation that the student has received a Purple Heart or another combat decoration superior in precedence.
The forms must be submitted to the Student Financial Services Office by the payment deadline for the first term as noted on the University Academic Calendar; the waiver will automatically be applied to your account in future terms.
Is currently, or was at the time of the military action that resulted in the awarding of the Purple Heart or other combat decoration superior in precedence, a resident of Florida
Pursuant to Florida Statute 1009.26 (2), persons who supervise interns for institutions within the State University System may be given one non-transferable certificate (fee waiver) for each full academic term during which the person serves as an intern supervisor. This certificate shall provide for waiver of the basic tuition fee (as defined in Regulation 7.001).
Certificate holders are entitled to a waiver of tuition for a maximum of six (6) credit hours (including credit through The Division of Continuing Education) during a single term. Certificates shall be valid for three years from date of issuance and are not transferable.
Waiver of tuition for Market Rate or Self-Supporting courses will be at the approved tuition rate for traditional courses--$105.07 for Cost Recovery courses and $408.10 for Market Rate courses.
Pursuant to Florida Statute 112.191 (3) students whose parent or spouse was a member of law enforcement or firefighter who died in the line of duty before July 1, 2019 are eligible for a waiver of tuition and associated fees.
Students must submit a letter from the agency chief indicating the parent died in the line of duty.
Students must submit a letter from the agency chief indicating the parent died in the line of duty.
Pursuant to Florida Statute 112.1915, students whose parent was a teacher or school administrator of a Florida district school board who died as a result of their job are eligible for a waiver up to 120 credit hours
Students must submit a letter from the school administration indicating the parent died in the line of duty.
Students must submit a certified copy of a death certificate letter indicating the parent died in the line of duty.and the servicemember was a resident of Florida for 1 year immediately preceding the death.
Pursuant to Florida Board of Governors regulation 7.008, the University will waive tuition and associated fees up to 120 credit hours of instruction for persons wrongfully incarcerated.
The student needs to submit proof that the felony conviction was vacated by the court and the original sentencing court has issued its order finding that the person neither committed the act, nor did aid, abet or act as an accomplice or accessory to the act or offense. The forms must be submitted to the Student Financial Services Office by the payment deadline for the term as noted on the University Academic Calendar.
The waiver will waive tuition and associated fees up to 120 credit hours of instruction if the eligibility requirements are met.
This waiver can be used for Market Rate and Self-Supporting programs and will cover tuition, capital improvement fee, ID card fee, financial aid fee, technology fee and distance learning fee.
Pursuant to HB 851, Florida Statute 1009.26, the University shall waive out-of-state tuition and out-of-state financial aid fee for students who attend a Florida secondary school for three consecutive years immediately preceding high school graduation.
Students must be admitted to UNF and meet the following requirements:
Due to the requirement of attending a Florida secondary school, home educated students are not eligible.
Pursuant to Florida Statute 1009.26 (12)(a), and the federal Veterans' Access to Care through Choice, Accountability, and Transparency Act of 2014 (Title VII, section 702), the University shall waive out-of-state tuition and out-of-state financial aid fee for an honorably discharged veteran of the United States Armed Services, the United States Reserve Forces, or the National Guard who physically resides in Florida while enrolled in the University. This waiver has been amended as of July 1, 2015 to include any dependent who receives VA educational assistance and resides in Florida; they will also receive instate tuition.
For Dependents using VA educational assistance:
UNF will verify that the student’s residency status before the waiver is applied.
Students need to provide documentation from their Human Resources department that they meet the employment eligibility requirements:
Students are also required to maintain at least a "B" average to maintain eligibility.
Students are required to submit all documentations verifying eligibility to the Student Financial Services Office no later than the payment deadline each semester.
Student Financial Services will verify students have met the minimum grade eligibility with the Registrar's Office prior to posting the waiver.