Skip to Main Content

Florida Board of Governors confirms Dr. Moez Limayem as UNF’s seventh president

UNF President Moez LimayemThe Florida Board of Governors confirmed Dr. Moez Limayem as the University of North Florida’s seventh president today at its regular board meeting. He will begin his presidency on August 1.

Dr. Limayem most recently served as the Lynn Pippenger Dean of the Muma College of Business at the University of South Florida (USF) where he provided administrative, strategic planning and fiscal management oversight for the college that serves business students on three campuses. He was instrumental in raising more than $126 million in gifts for the college to bolster student success, entrepreneurship and career readiness.

During his tenure as dean, graduation and freshman retention rates rose significantly as well as job placement rates. Since 2021, Limayem has also led USF’s career readiness efforts to increase career preparation and placement, internships and talent development.

“I am honored to join the University of North Florida and eager to listen, learn and work with all members of the community to grow opportunities to help students succeed,” Limayem said. “UNF is a top provider of talent in Florida, and I am committed to building on the University’s many strengths to effectively serve the region and state.”

Limayem was heavily involved in the Tampa community while at USF, including service on the Board of Directors of the Greater Tampa Bay Chamber of Commerce. He was named among the Power 100: Tampa Bay’s Most Influential Business Leaders of 2022 by the Tampa Bay Business Journal. Limayem also serves on the board of the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business International.

Limayem was selected as the president-elect by the UNF Board of Trustees in May. The confirmation today concludes an extensive national search that began in Fall 2021. Dr. Pamela Chally has served as UNF’s interim president since September.

Limayem succeeds Dr. David M. Szymanski who served from 2018-2021. Other past presidents include: John A. Delaney (2003-2018), Dr. Anne H. Hopkins (1999-2002), Dr. Adam W. Herbert (1989-1998), Dr. Curtis L. McCray (1982-1988) and founding president Dr. Thomas G. Carpenter (1969-1980).