Skip to Main Content
College of Arts and Sciences
twoColumn twoLeft

History Faculty

The Department of History has earned a reputation as a community of true scholar teachers. In the last ten years, UNF history faculty have published twenty-five books, 59 peer-reviewed journal articles and 35 book chapters. They have won national and international book awards and grants, including NEH, Fulbright, and Ford foundation grants.

Books Published by UNF History Faculty

Full-time Faculty

Name Position Email Phone Room Number
Dr. David Sheffler Department Chair & Associate Professor david.sheffler@unf.edu (904) 620-1856 9/2502
Dr. Felicia Bevel Assistant Professor felicia.bevel@unf.edu (904) 620-2886 9/2508
Dr. Denise I. Bossy Associate Professor denise.bossy@unf.edu (904) 620-2886 9/2504
Dr. Alison J. Bruey Professor alison.bruey@unf.edu (904) 620-2286 9/2423
Dr. Jeffrey Chamberlain Professor & Dean, Hicks Honors College j.chamberlain@unf.edu (904) 620-3954 1/1610
Dr. Charles E. Closmann Associate Professor cclosman@unf.edu (904) 620-1864 9/2520
Dr. Karen Cousins Assistant Vice President, Office of the Provost and Affiliate Professor karen.cousins@unf.edu (904) 620-3942 2/1204
Dr. Philip Kaplan Associate Professor pkaplan@unf.edu (904) 620-2886 9/2510
Dr. Chau Kelly Associate Professor & Graduate Program Director chau.kelly@unf.edu (904) 620-5234 9/2512
Dr. Jillian McClure Visiting Assistant Professor jillian.mcclure@unf.edu (904) 620-2886 9/2518
Dr. Justin Rogers Assistant Professor justin.rogers@unf.edu (904) 620-2886 9/2520
Dr. E. Kyle Romero Assistant Professor e.kyle.romero@unf.edu (904) 620-2886 9/2514
Dr. Chris Rominger Assistant Professor chris.rominger@unf.edu (904) 620-2886 9/2506

Emeritus Faculty

Name Position Email Phone Room Number
Dr. Dale Clifford Associate Professor clifford@unf.edu (904) 620-2880 9/2501
Dr. David T. Courtwright Professor dcourtwr@unf.edu (904) 620-2880 9/2423
Dr. James B. Crooks Professor jamesbcrooks@comcast.net (904) 620-2880 9/2501
Dr. Thomas M. Leonard Professor tleonard@unf.edu (904) 620-2880 9/2501
Dr. Theophilus C. Prousis Professor tprousis@unf.edu (904) 620-1867 9/2421
Dr. Daniel L. Schafer Professor dschafer@unf.edu (904) 620-2880 9/2501

Part-Time Faculty

Name Position Email Phone Room Number
Dr. David Justice Adjunct Professor d.justice@unf.edu
Heidi Manzone Adjunct Professor hmanzone@unf.edu (904) 620-2886 9/2509
Melissa Matthews Adjunct Professor mmatthews@unf.edu (904) 620-2886 9/2515
Patrick Nolan Adjunct Professor p.nolan@unf.edu (904) 620-2886 9/2406
Amarilys Sanchez Adjunct Professor N01065425@unf.edu (904) 620-2886 9/2511
Jay Smith Adjunct Professor n00163232@unf.edu (904) 620-2886 9/2517
Stephanie Smith Adjunct Professor n00451566@unf.edu (904) 620-2880
Justin Stuart Adjunct Professor n00882160@unf.edu (904) 620-2886
Brian Turner Adjunct Professor brian.turner@unf.edu (904) 620-2880 9/2511

Graduate Teaching Assistants

Name Position Email Phone Room Number
Stephanie Baskin Teaching Assistant n01109325@unf.edu (904) 620-2880 9/2414
Marisa Pechillo Teaching Assistant n01441021@unf.edu Teaching Assistant 9/2414

Office Staff

Name Position Email Phone Room Number
Marianne Roberts Office Manager mroberts@unf.edu (904) 620-2880 9/2503