Our office hours are 8:00 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Our hours may be extended during the fall and spring add/drop period and other peak times.
The Student Financial Services Office is located in Hicks Hall, Building 53, Suite 1100.
Tuition charges (regardless of the term) are due by published payment deadline to avoid a late payment fee or purging of your class schedule. The published deadline is posted in the Announcement section on "View & Pay My Bill" or on our website at "When to Pay," which is located under Payment Information.
We do not send out paper bills-check your account online for the amount due (go to myWings/students/View & Pay My Bill).
We accept checks, cashier's checks and money orders in the office-no credit or debit cards. We are not accepting cash payments at this time. We also have 2 drop boxes-one inside and one outside the building in which you can make a deposit-checks only in the drop box please. Put your driver's license number, phone number and your UNF student ID number on the front of all checks for proper processing. If a check is returned by the bank for any reason, you will not be able to make any future payments with a personal check. We do not accept international checks.
Debit and credit card payments can only be made through the myWings web portal. We have computers in our lobby that you can use to make a debit or credit card payment. There is a 2.75 percent non-refundable convenience fee based on the amount charged (4.25 percent for international credit cards).
You can pay online with a check (e-check) via the myWings web portal. Verify the routing and account information is correct before submitting (do not include the check number). There is no convenience fee with an e-check. You cannot use a credit card or line of credit convenience check; personal checking or savings accounts only. Please note some banks do not allow you to pay online from a savings account.
Our main mode of communication with students is through their UNF e-mail (every student is assigned one). Be sure to check it regularly (at least once a week) and also check your account online at least once weekly. Charges and aid do change so you should continually review your account. We occasionally send general notifications via Osprey Update for Students.
Please note that due to federal privacy laws designed to protect the student, we cannot discuss the student's account with anyone other than the student. We cannot tell the balance due, if the bill was paid, etc. Make sure you're communicating and getting the information to those that need to know.
Parking permits are sold online only. Students may elect to have their permit charge added to their myWings account so that it can be paid with their tuition bill (if you are expecting financial aid you will need to complete the Authorization to Allow Financial Aid to Pay for Non-Allowable charges).
The process is automatic and you do not need to show us your card. Florida Prepaid will post as a deferment on your account (it takes time after you change your registration). If you do NOT want us to bill for a particular semester, you must go on myWings and complete the opt-out form by end of the add/drop period every semester you do not want us to bill them.
Please have all required information in our office no later than the published Reinstatement deadline for the University to bill Florida Prepaid; we will not bill after that date.
Most prepaid plans do not cover the local fees, so you will have a balance to pay (unless you have other scholarships, loans, grants to cover the difference). Continue to check your account online.
The prepaid local plan does not cover the transportation access fee, technology fee, Student Life and Service fee, labs, etc.
The Florida prepaid amount will display in the Credit Balance figure on myWings in the "View & Pay My Bill" section. The payment will not post on the account until we receive payment from Florida Prepaid.
If all forms of payment exceed the amount owed to the University, the overage will be refunded via direct deposit. It is University policy for all students to enroll in direct deposit. Students can go online to myWings to enroll. Select the "Sign up for Direct Deposit Refunds" option in "My UNF Bill" to enter your bank routing and account numbers.
To defer your tuition charges against financial aid, you need to apply for financial aid as soon as possible. Financial aid is NOT automatic, nor is it guaranteed. You must meet eligibility requirements and fill out all the necessary paperwork.
After the Financial Aid Office has received all the required documentation, they will post the estimated awards on your account. Your bill will be automatically pended by the amount estimated. If your aid exceeds the cost of tuition, fees and housing, a file will be sent to the UNF bookstore. This will allow you to purchase your books based on your anticipated overage up to a maximum of $600 (only the amount you charge will be charged to your UNF account and deducted from your financial aid).
If you have other miscellaneous fees, your federal financial aid cannot pay them unless you authorize the University to do so. Complete the financial aid authorization form located on myWings/student self service/online forms to authorize the payment of non-allowable charges.
Federal financial aid (PELL, SEOG and loans) cannot pay what the Federal Government considers penalty fees--repeat surcharge, excess hours, late fees and other fees and fines, even if you sign an authorization. You will need to have non-federal aid or pay out-of-pocket for those charges.
If you are NOT eligible for financial aid or it is insufficient to pay your bill we offer a one-third payment plan. To enroll you enroll and pay online; the system will calculate your initial payment for you. Students can enroll after the payment deadline up to the reinstatement deadline; however if you enroll after the payment deadline, you will be assessed a $100 late payment fee.
For the one-third payment plan, you pay one-third your tuition and fee balance (after financial aid and other credits) plus $15 enrollment fee by the tuition payment deadline. Housing, meal membership, parking and other non-tuition charges cannot be included in the payment plan. The second payment is due in 4 weeks after the payment deadline and the final payment is due 4 weeks after the second payment. You enroll online and pay with e-check (no fee) or credit/debit card (2.75 percent convenience fee (4.25 percent for international credit cards)). There are no automatic deductions for the remaining payments; you must go online and make those payments. Payments made after any of the payment deadlines will be assessed a $100 late payment fee (one fee per semester).
If you are on a wait list, you need to continually check your account to determine if you've been added to the class; you are not assessed tuition and fees for the class unless you've been added into it. Sometimes students are added after the end of add/drop week & are then liable for the class. Drop it during add/drop week if you do not want to take the class.
1098Ts are available on myWings in January. We report what was billed during the previous calendar year. For accurate reporting, you should save your receipts.
All third party contracts stating someone else is paying your tuition MUST be turned into our office by the payment deadline or you may be assessed a late payment fee and/or administratively withdrawn for non-payment from all your classes.
If you decide to not take a class(es) you should drop them by the end of the first week as you may not get administratively withdrawn for non-payment due to financial aid, a waiver, etc. The safest way to not be liable for the class is to drop it by the end of add/drop week; do not rely on the system to do it for you.
Refer to our website for additional information, questions or concerns, please contact us.