Skip to Main Content

Student recipients of the 2021 Ackerman Cancer Center Community Health Scholarship announced

Ackerman Community Health Endowed Scholars meeting with Dr. and Mrs. Ackerman at the Ackerman Cancer CenterThe University of North Florida and Ackerman Cancer Center are proud to offer scholarships to healthcare students through the Ackerman Community Health Endowed Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded every year to selected students in the UNF Brooks College of Health, with a concentration in public health and community health.

The 2021 Ackerman Community Health Scholars are Calvin Gates, Haley Hadd, Jillian Herrera and Zoe Balanag. The scholars recently met with Dr. and Mrs. Ackerman at the Ackerman Cancer Center to discuss their current studies and future career aspirations.

Since 2007 Dr. Ackerman and the UNF Brooks College of Health have awarded 19 student scholarships. “The greatest way to invest in healthcare is to invest in people whose mission in life is to better it. By sponsoring the students of Brooks College of Health, we are helping them to achieve their goals and pave the way for advancements in healthcare.” - Dr. Scot Ackerman, Medical Director, Ackerman Cancer Center.

“The Ackerman Cancer Center has been a long-term supporter of students in the UNF Brooks College of Health and I couldn’t be more grateful to Dr. and Mrs. Ackerman for their years of continued generosity.” - Dean Curt Lox, UNF Brooks College of Health

Established in 2007, the scholarship was created by Dr. Scot Ackerman to fund scholarships for undergraduate students pursuing degrees in either community health or public health. A board-certified radiation oncologist, Dr. Ackerman established Ackerman Cancer Center offering proton therapy in Jacksonville.