Skip to Main Content

UNF’s OneJax Honors 2020 Humanitarian Award Winners

OneJax, an institute of the University of North Florida,OneJax Humanitarian Award Honorees standing together against a OneJax backdrop will recognize the recipients of its 2020 Humanitarian Awards during a rescheduled virtual event at 7 p.m. tonight, Thursday, Sept. 10.

The OneJax Humanitarian Awards honor those who have demonstrated the highest level of personal and professional integrity, have given generously to the community and have been dedicated to the improvement of human relations among diverse groups. This year's event also acknowledges and celebrates the 50th anniversary of the OneJax organization and the awards dinner.

OneJax awards the Silver Medallion each year in recognition of an individual's outstanding dedication and community service. The 2020 awards honorees include:

  • Dr. Jeffrey Levenson, co-developer and coordinator of Jacksonville's Gift of Sight; president of Vision is Priceless; chief medical officer of SEE International
  • MaliVai Washington and Terri Florio, MaliVai Washington Youth Foundation, founder and executive director respectively
  • Melanie Patz and Lynn Sherman, co-chairs of the Jacksonville Community Remembrance Project; leaders of 904Ward
  • Michael Ward, co-founder of the Michael Ward and Jennifer Glock Foundation; retired CEO of CSX

"This year's honorees reflect the longstanding efforts of OneJax to achieve civility, understanding and respect for all through education, dialogue and community-building," said Connie Hodges, OneJax board chair.

Registration is open until the event begins. More information on the award winners and registration can be found on the Humanitarian Awards webpage.

OneJax has been an institute of UNF since 2012 and works to make Northeast Florida a better place for everyone by celebrating differences and identifying commonalities through education, community building and advocacy.