Skip to Main Content

UNF awards criminology professor Dr. J. Mitch Miller the John A. Delaney Presidential Professorship

miller looking at the cameraThe University of North Florida has selected Dr. J. Mitch Miller, a professor in the Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice, as the recipient of the John A. Delaney Presidential Professorship. The professorship recognizes faculty achievements through the support of outstanding scholars.

Miller is the University’s tenth presidential professor and will receive a $7,500 stipend for the professorship and one course release each academic year. The professorship, effective in July, carries a full-term appointment of three years and was designed in honor of UNF President Emeritus John A. Delaney.

“Dr. Miller is an outstanding scholar with an international reputation and he is very deserving of this prestigious award,” said UNF Provost Simon Rhodes.

Miller specializes in qualitative research methods, drugs and crime, justice program evaluation and criminological theory. He is widely recognized for his productivity in grants acquisition and publications in top ranked journals.

Miller has conducted funded research for several federal and state agencies and is an advocate of evidence-based practices, researcher-practitioner partnerships and translational criminology.

He is a Fellow of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences, past president of the Southern Criminal Justice Association, previous recipient of the national criminal justice honor society Alpha Phi Sigma National Advisor of the Year Award, and former editor of the Journal of Crime & Justice and the Journal of Criminal Justice Education.  The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences recently named him the recipient of the ACJS Founder’s Award – one of the Academy’s three major awards. Dr. Miller has previously received the ACJS Fellow and Bruce Smith, Sr. awards placing him in a small group of only six scholars to receive all three accolades.

Miller holds a doctorate in sociology from the University of Tennessee as well as a master’s and bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from Middle Tennessee State University.

Miller joins former recipients of this award which include Drs. Cliff Ross, John Hatle, Kenneth Laali, Lee Gasparov, Greg Ahearn, Andy Buchwalter, David Courtwright, Tom Pekarek and Gary Smart.