Skip to Main Content
collage of scientific closeups

MS Program in Materials Science and Engineering

Message from the Program Coordinator

We are pleased to announce the new Master of Science degree program in Materials Science and Engineering.* In this two‐year program, each graduate student will conduct significant original research under the guidance of a faculty mentor, culminating in the completion and defense of a master’s thesis. It will also be possible to conduct research in collaboration with a local industry partner. The program will be open to students who have completed a bachelor’s degree in any area of the natural sciences or engineering. The first cohort of graduate students will be admitted for the Fall 2021 semester. More details on how to apply will be posted in the coming months; the application deadline for the first cohort will be in early 2021.

This new interdisciplinary graduate program brings together more than twenty UNF faculty from Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Electrical Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering. A list of the program faculty and their areas of research can be found below. The program will also leverage the electron microscopy and materials characterization facilities in the UNF Materials Science and Engineering Research Facility (MSERF).

More information on the program will be added to this site in the coming months. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out to me with any questions.

Dr. Daniel Santavicca, MS MSE Program Coordinator

*Pending approval by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Program Faculty

Name Position & Department Areas
Dr. Juan Aceros Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering Micro-electromechanical systems, assistive and adaptive technologies
Dr. Grant Bevill​ Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering​ Biomechanics​
Dr. Stuart Chalk​ Professor, Chemistry​ Chemical informatics, materials informatics, and data science
Dr. Paul Eason​ Professor, Mechanical Engineering & Director, MSERF & Associate Dean, CCEC​ Metallurgy, electron microscopy
Dr. Lev Gasparov​ Presidential Professor, Physics & Associate Dean, COAS  Optical properties of materials, Raman spectroscopy
Dr. Jason Haraldsen​ Associate Professor, Physics​ Theoretical /computational materials physics​
Dr. M. Laura Habegger​ Assistant Professor, Biology​ Functional morphology, biomechanics​
Dr. Osama Jadaan​ Professor, Mechanical Engineering & Director, School of Engineering​ Probabilistic design, ceramic engineering, fracture mechanics, and finite element analysis​
Dr. Brynna Jones​ Assistant Professor, Chemistry​ Optical spectroscopy, interactions of microplastics with environmental systems
Dr. Bryan Knuckley​ Associate Professor & Chair, Chemistry​ Polymers and diagnostic sensors
Dr. Kenneth Laali​ Presidential Professor, Chemistry​ Organic, organometallic, medicinal, and materials chemistry
Dr. Amy Lane​ Associate Professor, Chemistry​ Natural products/secondary metabolites
Dr. Michael Lufaso​ Associate Professor, Chemistry​ Solid state synthesis, x-ray diffraction, and structure-property relationships
Dr. Joshua Melko​ Assistant Professor, Chemistry​ Characterizing energetics and reactivity of transition metal molecules
Dr. Thomas J. Mullen​ Associate Professor, Chemistry​ Molecular self- and directed-assembly on metal and semiconductor surfaces
Dr. Thomas Pekarek​ Presidential Professor, Physics​ Magnetically-doped semiconductors​
Dr. Daniel Santavicca​ Associate Professor, Physics & Coordinator, MS MSE Program​ Nanoscale electronics and optoelectronics, superconducting devices
Dr. Alexandra Schonning Professor, Mechanical Engineering Finite element analysis, biomechanics, computer-aided engineering, diversity & inclusion
Dr. Jutima Simsiriwong​ Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering​ Fatigue and fracture analysis of additively-manufactured materials
Dr. Stephen Stagon​ Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering​ Surfaces, coatings, and interface engineering
Dr. Eirin Sullivan Assistant Professor, Chemistry Synthesis, structural and physical characterization of functional solid state materials via X-ray and neutron powder diffraction
Dr. Candice Tahimic Assistant Professor, Biology Microgravity and space radiation and their effects on organ systems; bioinformatics; microarchitectural analysis of calcified biomaterial
Dr. Maitri Warusawithana​ Assistant Professor, Physics​ Molecular beam epitaxy, complex oxides, quantum materials​
Dr. Gregory Wurtz​ Associate Professor & Chair, Physics​ Nano-optics, nonlinear optics, ultrafast optics, and plasmonics​