Skip to Main Content

Press Release for Tuesday, April 10, 2007

Coggin College Recognizes Distinguished Community Leaders

Contact: Joanna Norris, Assistant Director
Department of Media Relations and Events
(904) 620-2102

The Coggin College of Business at the University of North Florida will recognize four individuals at the 10th Annual Prime F. Osborn III Distinguished Business Leaders Award Luncheon for their continuing career achievements. The awards luncheon will be held at 11:30 a.m. on Wednesday, May 23, at the Hyatt Regency Riverfront. Corporate sponsors of this event include Allstate Workplace Division, Brooks Rehabilitation, The Florida Times-Union, LandMar, The Jacksonville Bank and PSS World Medical.

The 2007 award recipients include Michael Ward, Steve Halverson, Catherine B. Reynolds and Dr. B. Jay Coleman. Ward and Halverson will be awarded the Distinguished Business Leader award, while Reynolds will be bestowed the Distinguished Alumna award and Coleman will receive the Distinguished Professor award.

“Our 10th anniversary event will celebrate successful leaders who have exhibited integrity, strong ethical values and character, making them exceptional role models,” said Dr. John McAllister, dean of the Coggin College of Business.

Ward is a 29-year veteran of CSX and his business successes are rooted firmly in a philosophy of focused and consistent leadership and continuous improvement. As a result, CSX’s market capitalization has doubled since Ward took the reigns as chief financial officer in 2003. Consistent with his own priorities and the CSX core value of people making a difference, the company’s annual charitable contributions are at an all-time high of $5.5 million. Following Hurricane Katrina, Ward and his wife, Terry, identified a domestic violence shelter in New Orleans, giving their time and financial resources to rebuild it.

Halverson is president and chief executive officer of The Haskell Company, where he is responsible for design and construction of several highly-acclaimed, large-scale projects throughout the United States. In Jacksonville, Haskell has been responsible for construction of numerous landmarks, including Jacksonville Municipal Stadium, Blue Cross and Blue Shield headquarters, Baptist Hospital South and St. Joe Headquarters to name a few. He is president of the Jacksonville Symphony Orchestra and serves as a mentor to North Shore Elementary School as part of the Partnership to Advance School Success Program.

Reynolds graduated from UNF in 1980 with a degree in business administration. She later became chairman, CEO and president of EduCap, a non-profit student loan business, and founded Servus Financial Corporation, EduCap’s for-profit affiliate, where she served as chairman until 2000. EduCap and Servus were sold to Wells Fargo in 2000, which inspired the creation of the Catherine B. Reynolds Foundation. The Foundation supports over 40 organizations whose focuses range from breast cancer research to scholarships for children displaced by Hurricane Katrina to equipping the handicapped with wheelchairs to feeding the hungry.

Coleman has been an outstanding faculty member in the Coggin College for many years and is accomplished in teaching, research and service. In 2005, he was voted by UNF faculty to receive the Distinguished Professor award and is only the fifth faculty member in the history of the Coggin College to earn this honor. Currently, he serves as associate dean of assessment in the Coggin College and is actively involved in research primarily focused on the mathematical modeling of managerial decisions. Coleman has served on more than 50 different committees and other service assignments while at UNF, including 17 leadership positions.

The Prime F. Osborn III Distinguished Business Leaders Award was established in 1998 by UNF’s Coggin College of Business as an annual award to recognize the long-term career achievements of individuals who provide leadership in business and the local community. Qualifications for these honorees include success in business, significant contributions to community quality of life and a commitment to ethical practices.

The award has been named in honor of the late Prime F. Osborn III, whose long career in the railway industry was noted as much for service to mankind as it was for business acumen. Prime Osborn was known throughout the nation as a person of character, integrity and high ethical standards.

For more information about the event, call 904.620.2590 or visit