Skip to Main Content
Office of Diversity and Inclusion

Awards and Scholarships


Women's History Month Scholarship

The $1,000 Women's History Month Scholarship is awarded to a UNF student for outstanding work on campus or the local community that enhances gender equality. The award is made possible by the UNF Office of Diversity and Inclusion. The application period for the Women's History Month Scholarship ends January 20, 2023.

The eligibility requirements include: current enrollment for at least nine hours for undergraduates or six hours for graduate students; enrolled for two consecutive terms at UNF; a minimum GPA of 2.5 for undergraduates and 3.0 for graduate; and work promoting and/or providing opportunities that create fairness in the way women and men are treated. Applicants are required to submit a signed application, two letters of recommendation, a one-page statement describing work enhancing gender equity and a resume.

Students can log in to UNF Academic Works via MyWings for information on applying for the Women's History Month Scholarship.

Gender Equity Award

Every spring the University of North Florida Women's Center presents the Gender Equity Award to one individual in the campus community who actively promotes women's growth at UNF, provides a positive role model for women on campus, works to improve the position of women at UNF through advocacy and education, and exhibits qualities of leadership on campus. Students, faculty and staff of UNF are eligible for the award. The recipient is announced at the annual Women's History Month Luncheon, hosted by the Women's Center in March.

Gender Equity Award Nominations

UNF students, faculty and staff are eligible for the award, which is given each year to one member of the University community who has made significant contributions to the women of UNF. 

Award nominees should be individuals who actively promote women's growth at UNF, provide a positive role model for the women of UNF, work to improve the position of women on campus through advocacy and education, and exhibit qualities of leadership on campus. Nominees whose contributions may otherwise go unrecognized are particularly welcome; self-nominations are acceptable. Current UNF Women's Center paid staff are not eligible for the award.

Eligible nominees will be asked to submit additional supporting materials. For more information, contact the Women's Center at (904) 620-2528.

The recipient of the award is announced at the annual Women's History Month Luncheon, hosted by the Women's Center in March.

Gender Equity Award Winners

The UNF Women's Center is proud to recognize Dr. Carolyne Ali-Khan as the 2021 Gender Equity Award recipient. Dr. Ali-Khan (she/her) is an Associate Professor in the Department of Teaching, Learning Curriculum in the College of Education and Human Services. Her research foci include critical pedagogy, autoethnography, and looking at issues of representation. She is excited to have articles recently published and in press with Dr. John White in which they look at the silencing of sex, sexuality and the body in k-12 classrooms and teacher education.

Dr. Ali-Khan joins a prestigious group of past Gender Equity Award recipients:

Award Winners

Year Award Recipient Title
2022 Dr. Matthew Ohlson
2021 Dr. Carolyne Ali-Khan
2020 Dr. Elizabeth Brown
2019 Dr. Susan Perez
2018 Dr. Alexandra Schonning
2017 Dr. Christos Lampropoulos
2016 Dr. Cheryl Frolich
2015 Shannon Italia
2014 Dr. Jennifer Wesely
2013 Kathryn Bouziane
2012 Idania (Ida) Rojas Gropper
2011 Dr. Tes Tuason
2010 Dr. Dale Clifford
2009 Dr. Kristine Webb
2008 Dr. Annabel Brooks
2007 Lindsey Morrison
2006 Dr. Elizabeth Furdell
2005 Dr. Joyce Jones
2004 Dr. Elinor Scheirer
2003 Dr. Berrin Beasley
2002 Dr. Sharon Wilburn
2001 Dr. Terry DiNuzzo
2000 Dr. Pamela Chally
1999 Donna Marie Vigilante
1998 Dr. Betty Meers
1997 Dr. Carolyn Williams
1996 Dr. Bette Soldwedel
1995 Dr. Christine Rasche
1994 Dr. Susan Wallace