Skip to Main Content

Women's History Month Scholarship

The $1,000 Women's History Month Scholarship is awarded to a UNF student for outstanding work on campus or the local community that enhances gender equality. The award is funded by the Office of the Vice President of Student and International Affairs. The application deadline for the 2018 Women's History Month Scholarship is now passed.


The eligibility requirements include: current enrollment for at least nine hours for undergraduates or six hours for graduate students; enrolled for two consecutive terms at UNF; a minimum GPA of 2.5 for undergraduates and 3.0 for graduate; and work promoting and/or providing opportunities that create fairness in the way women and men are treated. Applicants are required to submit a signed application, two letters of recommendation, a one-page statement describing work enhancing gender equity and a resume.


The award is presented in March at the Women's History Month Luncheon.


Susan B. Anthony Award

Every spring the University of North Florida Women's Center presents the Susan B. Anthony Award to one individual in the campus community who actively promotes women's growth at UNF, provides a positive role model for women on campus, works to improve the position of women at UNF through advocacy and education, and exhibits qualities of leadership on campus. Students, faculty and staff of UNF are eligible for the award. The recipient is announced at the annual Women's History Month Luncheon, hosted by the Women's Center in March.   

Susan B. Anthony Award Nominations

UNF students, faculty and staff are eligible for the award, which is given each year to one member of the University community who has made significant contributions to the women of UNF.


Award nominees should be individuals who actively promote women's growth at UNF, provide a positive role model for the women of UNF, work to improve the position of women on campus through advocacy and education, and exhibit qualities of leadership on campus. Nominees whose contributions may otherwise go unrecognized are particularly welcome; self-nominations are acceptable. Current UNF Women's Center paid staff are not eligible for the award.


Eligible nominees will be asked to submit additional supporting materials. For more information, contact the Women's Center at (904) 620-2528. 


The recipient of the award is announced at the annual Women's History Month Luncheon, hosted by the Women's Center in March.

Susan B. Anthony Award Winners

Dr. Alexandra Schonning, a University of North Florida professor of mechanical engineering, received the 2018 Susan B. Anthony award which was presented by Dr. Christos Lampropoulos, a University of North Florida associate professor of chemistry, who was the 2017 recipient.


Dr. Schonning is a mechanical engineering professor in the School of Engineering at the University of North Florida. She also serves as the Mechanical Engineering Coordinator and Director of the Center for Advancement of Women in Engineering (CAWE), which she also established.


She received her Bachelor's, Master's and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Central Florida.


To help retain female engineering students, Dr. Schonning is building a coaching system involving peer-to-peer mentoring, professional engineers mentoring students and a course addressing some of the issues related to gender imbalance and professional development.


Dr. Schonning joins a prestigious group of past Susan B. Anthony Award recipients:


Award Winners


Award Recipient


Dr. Christos Lampropoulos


Dr. Cheryl Frolich


Shannon Italia


Dr. Jennifer Wesely


Kathryn Bouziane


Idania (Ida) Rojas Gropper


Dr. Tes Tuason


Dr. Dale Clifford


Dr. Kristine Webb


Dr. Annabel Brooks


Lindsey Morrison


Dr. Elizabeth Furdell


Dr. Joyce Jones


Dr. Elinor Scheirer


Dr. Berrin Beasley


Dr. Sharon Wilburn


Dr. Terry DiNuzzo


Dr. Pamela Chally


Donna Marie Vigilante


Dr. Betty Meers


Dr. Carolyn Williams


Dr. Bette Soldwedel


Dr. Christine Rasche


Dr. Susan Wallace