Skip to Main Content

Minutes of Meeting

Research Council Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 11:00 AM

Location: OFE/FA Conference Room - Osprey Commons, Bldg 16, 3rd Floor, Rm 3108

Meeting Details

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by chair, Judy Ochrietor, at 11:02 AM.

Members Present:

Mina Baliamoune, CCB (Economics & Geography) Denise Bossy, COAS (History) Thomas Caswell (Library) Jose Franco, At-Large (Mathematics & Statistics) Jason Haraldsen, COAS (Physics) Tammie Johnson, BCH (Public Health) Lori Lange, COAS (Psychology) Holly Miller, At-Large (Criminology and Criminal Justice) Judith Ochrietor, COAS (Biology)

Members Absent:

Kathleen Bloom, BCH (School of Nursing) William Dally, CCEC (School of Engineering/Civil) Christopher (Brian) Flynn, CCB (Management) David Hoppey, COEHS (Exceptional, Deaf, and Interpreter Education) John Nuszkowski, CCEC (School of Engineering/Mechanical) Kristi Sweeney, COEHS (Leadership, School Counseling, & Sports Management) Lauri Wright, BCH (Nutrition & Dietetics)

Others Attending:

John Kantner, AVP for Research

Meeting Minutes

  • Approval of the Minutes

    The October meeting minutes were approved.
  • Introductory Remarks/Old Business

  • New Business

    Faculty Scholarship grants were discussed:


    • a. The proposals were ranked according to score.
      • i.Score was determined using a rubric that was provided with the application.
    • b. It was determined that the proposals fell into tiers.
      • i. The top tier would likely be guaranteed to be funded and were not discussed.
      • ii. Proposals within the second tier were discussed and terms for “tie-breaking” were determined to be based on the scores for significance and success – breaking ties beyond that point will be done by Academic Affairs and will likely be based on whether the project is new


  • Adjournment & Next Meeting

    Meeting adjourned at 11:47 a.m.

    Next meeting: No meeting scheduled in December, and January is not yet set up.