Skip to Main Content

Minutes of Meeting

Research Council Thursday, April 27, 2017 at 2:30 PM

Location: Bldg 59/Room 1001

Meeting Details

Call to Order:

The meeting was called by chair, Judy Ochrietor, to order at 2:31 PM.

Members Present:

Judith Ochrietor, COAS (Biology) Thomas Caswell (Library) Herbert Koegler (Philosophy & Religious Studies) Lori Lange, COAS (Psychology) John Nuszkowski, CCEC (Engineering) Lauri Wright, BCH (Nutrition & Dietetics) Jose Franco (Mathematics) Kathleen Bloom, BCH (Nursing) James Churilla, BCH (Clinical and Applied Movement Sciences)

Members Absent:

Cara Tasher, COAS (Music) Suzi Wang (Social Work) William Dally, CCEC (Engineering) Laura Heffernan, COAS (English) Mina Baliamoune, CCB (Economics & Geography) Kristi Sweeney, CEHS (Leadership, School Counseling, & Sport Management) Lakshmi Goel, CCB (Management) Hope Wilson, CEHS (Foundations & Secondary Education) Holly Miller

Ex-Officio Members:

John Kantner, Associate Vice President for ORSP

Meeting Minutes

  • Approval of the Minutes

    March 15, 2017 meeting minutes were approved.
  • Introductory Remarks/Old Business

  • New Business

    • Thank you to James Churilla, Herbert Koegler and John Nuszkowski for their 2 years of service on the Research Council. 
    • Welcome Jose Franco and Holly Miller to the Council.
    • Motion to resume Council meetings in Fall 2017 was approved.
    • Motion for Judith Ochrietor to continue as Chair was approved.
    • The UNF identity statement on research/scholarship is being reworked based on input from the Research Council and John Kantner. The statement was further discussed by Council members.
  • Adjournment & Next Meeting

    Meeting adjourned at 3:25 PM.
    Judy will send a summary of Research Council members’ comments on the UNF identity statement to David Fenner.
    Judy will send a doodle poll to determine the best time for Fall semester meetings