Skip to Main Content

 Research Council
Annual Report
Submitted By Dr. Judith Ochrietor, Chair

The Research Council makes recommendations concerning the research activities on the campus of the University of North Florida. The main role of the Research Council is to evaluate the summer research proposals submitted by faculty and provide funding recommendations for those proposals to Academic Affairs.

During the 2016-2017 academic year, 40 proposals were received. This was the first round of funding for which a scoring rubric, developed by the Research Council, was used. Of those proposals, 19 received funding. Those proposals included both single-investigator (14) and multi-investigator, interdisciplinary (5) studies across four colleges. Specifically, 6 investigators in the Brooks College of Health, 13 investigators in the College of Arts and Sciences, 3 investigators in the College of Computing, Engineering, and Construction, and 4 investigators in the College of Education and Human Services were funded. During the academic year, the Research Council also worked with Dr. David Fenner, Faculty Association Vice President, and the Faculty Affairs Committee to generate a research statement that reflects the faculty research survey conducted during the fall 2016 semester. Drafting the research statement will continue into the next academic year.

The composition of the Research Council includes members who have been appointed, those that have been elected from the University of North Florida faculty at large, and the Assistant Vice President for Research, who serves in a non-voting role. The Research Council elected Dr. Aisha Johnson-Jones as the Chair for the 2016-2017 academic year. In addition, Dr. Lauri Wright volunteered to serve as the Secretary for the Research Council. When Dr. Johnson-Jones left the University of North Florida in January 2017, Dr. Judith Ochrietor stepped into the role to complete the term. In April 2017, Council members elected Dr. Ochrietor to serve as the Chair for the 2017-2018 academic year and Dr. Wright agreed to maintain her role as Secretary. Of the 17 members of the Research Council, the service term of nine members ended with the close of the 2016-2017 academic year. Two new members were recently elected via Faculty Association voting procedures and seven additional members will be appointed by the Faculty Association President in the coming weeks.