Skip to Main Content

Faculty Enhancement Committee
Annual Report
Submitted by Dr. Kristine Webb, Co-Chair

For 2014-2015, the members were Paul Eason (co-Chair), Susan Massey (co-Chair-Fall 2014), Julie Ingersoll, Harriet Stranahan, Joel Beam, Kristine Webb (co-Chair Spring 2015, Mary Locklear, Carolynn McMahan, and Deborah Reed (substituted for Kristine Webb during her sabbatical Fall 2015)

Mary Locklear served on the DL committee as FEC representative for the 2014-2015 year.

The Committee met in September, October, November, January, February, March, and April.
The committee facilitated the Academic Affairs summer teaching grants. Faculty members from all Colleges served as reviewers for 25 proposals. Each proposal was reviewed through the online survey program by three reviewers, using a rubric scoring guide. Each applicant was provided a letter with their scores and any comments the reviewers provided. Reviews were all performed by reviewers outside of the applicant’s department.

A ranking of each proposal was done through averaging the three scores and provided to the Academic Affairs office. As suggested by the 2014-15 FEC, the proposals were blind reviewed. In addition, this year the committee decided to include an average ranking on each of the grant criteria, to help unfunded applicants see where to strengthen future applications. The Committee sent a list of reviewers to send to FA president, Chip Klostermeyer so he would write thank-you letter for faculty vitae.
The scoring rubric for the Faculty Development Summer Teaching Grant was revised and submitted to the Faculty Association as an information item for faculty who choose to propose during the 2015-2016 academic year.

Dr. Daniel Richard, Director of OFE, attended all committee meetings to update the committee on all activities undertaken by OFE during the academic year.

Co-chairs for the 2015-2016 Committee will be elected during the September 2015 committee meeting.

Respectfully submitted,
Kristine Wiest Webb, Committee co-chair