Skip to Main Content
Globe statue on campus

Board Members

Each of the 12 state universities has a 13-member Board of Trustees, responsible for cost-effective policy, implementing and maintaining high-quality education programs consistent with the university's mission, performance evaluation, and developing a process, meeting state policy, budgeting, and education standards. Members of the boards of trustees shall receive no compensation but may be reimbursed for travel and per diem expenses.


Members are appointed by the Governor (six citizen members) and by the Board of Governors (five citizen members). These 11 appoints are subject to confirmation by the Senate. The remaining two members are the chair of the faculty senate or the equivalent; and the president of the student body of the university. The appointed members shall serve staggered five-year terms. There shall be no state residency requirement for university board members, but the Governor and the Board of Governors shall consider diversity and regional representation.


Kevin Hyde

Jason Barrett

Tom Bryan

Jill Davis

Annie Egan

John Gol

Allison (Ali) Korman Shelton

Christopher Lazzara

Paul McElroy

Nikul (Nik) Patel

Nathaniel Rodefer

John White