Skip to Main Content

Press Release for Thursday, October 28, 2010

Soccer Duo Garner All-Atlantic Sun Honors


Rod Black


(904) 620-4025

University of North Florida freshmen forwards Carolina Lencina and Lauren Hopfensperger have been named to the All-A-Sun First-Team and All-Freshman Team as announced by the Atlantic Sun Conference Thursday. Lencina was also named Freshman of the Year – the first Osprey to garner the accolade in program history. 


 Lencina finished the 2010 regular season ranking fifth in the conference in all matches in points with 17, goals (six), and was sixth in assists with five. In conference play, the Buenos Aires, Argentina native was third in shots (32), points (14), goals (five) and ranked fourth in game-winning goals with two.  


 Furthermore, Lencina also led the team in assists (five), shots (36) and shots on goal (19). The rookie was named Atlantic Sun Conference Player of the Week (Sept. 20) for her efforts against Stetson and Florida Gulf Coast, scoring two gamewinners. 



Hopfensperger wrapped up her 2010 regular season campaign leading the conference in all matches in goals with 10 and game-winning goals with four. In conference play, the St. Augustine, Fla., native led the A-Sun in goals with eight, points (16) and was second with three game-winning goals. 



In addition, Hopfensperger led the team in goals (10), points (20) and game-winning goals (four). The first-year forward also had three multi-goal matches, connected on 10-of-18 shots on goal and currently ranks 10th in school history for goals in a season. 



This is the second time North Florida has had two All-Atlantic Sun selections in the same year (2008). However, Lencina and Hopfensperger are the first in program history to earn First-Team honors for the Ospreys and first to earn the conference accolades since 2008.  



The rookies are also the second duo to be selected to the All-Freshman Team (2006) and first since 2007. Lencina and Hopfensperger were both unanimous selections to the All-Freshman Team and the only freshmen named first team.