Skip to Main Content
OneJax Institute

2023 Humanitarian Nominations


Now Accepting Nominations for 2023 OneJax Humanitarians!

Submit nominations by 5 p.m. on Friday, October 7th, 2022!

Complete the Humanitarian Nomination Form

OneJax Institute is seeking nominations for the 2023 Humanitarian Awards. The community may nominate individuals for two awards: The Silver Medallion honors those who have demonstrated an unwavering commitment to our community, while the Dr. Gaston Acosta-Rua Young Professionals Award recognizes a young professional who is already making a significant impact on strengthening the community through his or her time, talent and treasure.
Since 1970, these signature awards have been the Jacksonville community's way of honoring those who have given generously of themselves and have exhibited the highest personal and professional integrity.
A committee of OneJax board members and former honorees will review nominations based solely upon the following criteria:
  • History of community service through long-term involvement in civic, religious, nonprofit or professional/business organizations
  • Dedication to the improvement of human relations among diverse groups in the Jacksonville area
  • Impeccable personal and professional integrity
  • Sustained commitment to humanitarian ideals
  • History of placing humanitarian concerns above self-interest
  • Realistic humility about his/her importance in the world
The 2023 Humanitarian Awards Event, date TBD, will mark the 53rd year that people making a difference in the community have been honored. Previous honorees include Audrey Moran, Warren Jones, Preston Haskell, Hugh Greene, Susan Greene, Nat Glover, Frieda Saraga, Madeline Scales-Taylor, Steve Halverson, Dr. Parvez Ahmed, Rodney L. Hurst, Pat Geraghty, Sr., Laurie DuBow, Basma Alawee, Darnell Smith and many others.