2009 Summer Excellence Awards Recipients Announced 

 2009 Summer Soaring

Soaring to Excellence Awards 

Shannon Italia - Coggin College of Business Career Management Center (Pictured above)

Shannon goes above and beyond to ensure resources are provided for Coggin students and works collaboratively with faculty, staff, students, campus staff and the Jacksonville business community. She works with countless professional organizations, community outreach programs and campus resources to ensure that our students are provided with the tools needed for success. Shannon remains focused on her goals, the goals of the students, the goals of the Coggin College, the Jacksonville community and the goals of the University. She also strives to instill a sense of accountability in our students. Shannon never stops or says "no" due to financial constraints or restrictions beyond our control, but constantly finds resourceful and effective ways to continuously offer resources to our students. All of what Shannon does encompasses a commitment to excellence.

 2009 Summer Outstanding

Outstanding Achievement Awards 

Anne Sheridan Fugard - Coggin College of Business

Anne Sheridan Fugard has been a leader in the Coggin International Business (IB) Program, which is now a INF Flagship Program, in large part due to her contributions since arriving at UNF five years ago. Her tremendous contributions to the internationalization of both the Coggin College in particular and UNF in general are second to none. Anne's efforts have led to increases from about one student per year to approximately 30 students per year studying at exchange partners, and from 100 students per year to more than 200 students per year participating in faculty-led programs. In addition to directing study abroad, she has worked with the directors of Coggin College's unique GlobalMBA program to raise the profile of students accepted, making it even more prestigious and competitive. Her kind, always helpful, supportive personality has won her many friends on campus.

Spot Award Recipients 

The following award recipients were "spotted" providing quality service, internal or external to their departments, which will have a lasting positive effect on students, faculty, staff or visitors:


Kelly Antones – Childhood Education
Andrew Burks – Physical Facilities
Lauren Chartier – Nutrition and Dietetics
Amanda Ellerbe – Coggin College of Business
Tom Erdal – Brooks College of Health
Ryan Fairbrother – Thomas G. Carpenter Library
Tim Fraley – Physical Facilities
Jocelynn Heck – Career Services
Lisa LaPorte – Coggin College of Business/Career Management Center 
Ann Lelis – Career Services
Rachel Martin – Career Services
Kate Mattingly – Coggin College of Business
Paula Michael Dass – Career Services
Carol Murray – Brooks College of Health
Danny Nutt – Engineering
Elaine Poppell – College of Computing, Engineering and Construction Distance Learning
Sheila Rodriguez – Engineering
Michael Trotter – Shipping and Receiving


Visit the Excellence Awards Program page to learn more about the Excellence Awards. All honorees will receive additional recognition at the Excellence Awards Ceremony and Luncheon held during the Professional Development Forum Tuesday, April 1.


Congratulations to all of the honorees!