Skip to Main Content


Membership in the African American Faculty and Staff Association (AAFSA) is open to all faculty and staff employed at the University of North Florida, regardless of religion (or lack of religious affiliation), race, color, ethnic background, marital status, age, national origin or sexual orientation. There are four membership categories: associate, voting, lifetime and friends of AAFSA.


Members must agree to abide by the rules and regulations of both the University and the Association. Employees become voting members of AAFSA upon payment of dues.

Membership Dues

Dues are $25 and must be paid annually to keep your voting membership status current. You may opt to pay your dues by check, cash or money order. You may also choose to have your payment payroll deducted. Please make all checks payable to the UNF Foundation. Contact for assistance with paying membership dues at this time.


All members of AAFSA shall meet quarterly during a calendar year with proper notification of meeting dates to all members. There will be one meeting during the following quarters:

  1. January - March;
  2. April - June;
  3. July - September;
  4. October - December.

Voting members are defined in Section 2 of ARTICLE III in the AAFSA Bylaws.

Current 2021 Voting AAFSA Members

To email, click the first name of a voting AAFSA member listed below. Individuals listed below are eligible to write recommendations for AAFSA scholarship applicants.


First Name Last Name Department Membership Type
Aleta Hayes Nursing Annual
Angela Gibson Office of Research and Sponsored Programs Annual
Angela Lee Professional Development and Training Annual
Angela Simmons Controller's Office Annual
Aronette Gebhard Information Technology User Services Annual
Brandi Winfrey Office of Diversity and Inclusion Annual
Bryan Knuckley Chemistry Annual
Chadwick Lockley Academic Affairs  Annual
Chantel Williams Military Veterans Resource Center Annual
Cheresa Boston Office of Research and Sponsored Programs Lifetime
Cherisse Sumner Human Resources Annual
Cheryl Gonzalez* Friend of AAFSA Lifetime
Courtney Diaz Music Annual
David Fenner Philosophy & Religious Studies Annual
Deirdre Shoemake Nursing Annual
George Rainbolt College of Arts and Sciences (COAS) Lifetime
Jason Edgar Student Government Annual
Karla Calliste-Edgar Information Technology Telephone Services Annual
Katie Haft Equal Opportunity and Inclusion Annual
Kathie Carswell College of Computing, Engineering and Construction Annual
Kishia Hill Undergraduate Studies Annual
Mark Dawkins Coggin College of Business (CCB) Lifetime
Pamela Zeiser College of Arts and Sciences Annual
Ricarla Jackson College of Arts and Sciences Annual
Richard Wynn Counseling Center Annual
Robin Hill FL Small Business Development Center Annual
Rosalyn Gilbert Office of Research and Sponsored Programs Annual
Shane Borden Business Services Annual
Sheila Spivey Office of Diversity and Inclusion Annual
Sophie Filbert College of Education and Human Services Lifetime
Valerie Stevenson Controller's Office Lifetime
Wanda Lastrapes College of Education and Human Services Annual
Whitney  Meyer* Friend of AAFSA Lifetime
Will Hunter Scholarships & Strategic Initiatives Annual