Skip to Main Content

Prime F. Osborn, III Distinguished Business Leaders

The Prime F. Osborn, III, Distinguished Business Leaders Award was established in 1998 by the University of North Florida's Coggin College of Business as an annual award to recognize the long-term career achievements of individuals who provide leadership in business and the local community. Qualifications for these honorees include success in business, significant contributions to community quality of life, and a commitment to the ethical practices and core values put forth by the Coggin College of Business at the University of North Florida. These awards were presented for the last and final time in 2016. The Coggin College of Business is transitioning from the Distinguished Business Leader awards to awards that will be newly named and presented at the college’s first Gala, Milestones and Memories, on October 21, 2017.


Honoree Categories 

Each year the UNF Coggin College of Business honors distinguished leaders in the following three categories:

  • Distinguished Business Leader
  • Distinguished Professor
  • Distinguished Alumni 

Prime F. Osborn, III 

The award has been named in honor of the late Prime F. Osborn, III, whose long career in the railway industry was noted as much for service to mankind as it was for business acumen. Prime Osborn was known throughout the nation as a person of character, integrity, and high ethical standards. His success in business was matched by his commitment to making this community and the entire state of Florida a better place for all its citizens.

Throughout his life, Prime F. Osborn, III, served as an outstanding role model for business leaders — successful in business, dedicated to strong family values, and committed to improving his community. The Coggin College of Business at the University of North Florida is extremely grateful for his contributions to Jacksonville, and to have his name associated with this award.