Skip to Main Content
students at a study abroad at stone henge.

The 2022-2023 Amy Wainright Scholarship Awards for Creative Writing

In honor and memory of Amy Wainright, a writing instructor at the University of North Florida from 1993 until 2013, the Department of English will award major prizes for the best undergraduate creative writing to eligible UNF students in four categories. In each category the annual prize is $1,000* and departmental recognition. Along with the winners, the competition judges will name honorable mentions in each category.

Award Categories

  1. Short Fiction
  2. Creative Non-Fiction
  3. Poetry
  4. Scriptwriting


  • You must be a Florida resident for tuition purposes and a fully enrolled undergraduate student (taking 12 credit hours each semester) with a minimum GPA of 2.5, graduating no sooner than Spring, 2023.
  • Manuscripts must consist of original work(s) of which you are the sole author.
  • Manuscripts must comply with format guidelines and entry requirements.
  • You may submit work that you have simultaneously submitted-but not that has been accepted-elsewhere for competition or publication.


  • Deadline for submissions: January 21, 2023.
  • Announcement of winners and finalists: March 13, 2023.

Submission Process

  • Submit your work to the appropriate award category page (creative nonfiction, fiction, poetry, or scriptwriting). Include your N# in the appropriate place. 
  • Submissions must be in .Doc, .Docx, PDF, or .RTF format. 
  • Notes: So that we can ensure blind-submission process, all name and contact information will appear separately from the poetry or prose submissions. (Any manuscript with the writer's name on it or in the file name will be disqualified.).
  • Be sure to include your "n" number.