Skip to Main Content

Biology Graduate Handbook

General Introduction

Welcome to the Department of Biology Graduate Program! While you may not realize it now, you are about to embark on one of the most exciting phases of your academic careers. No longer are you undergraduates locked only into taking classes, you now can actively shape your future careers. No matter your subsequent aspirations, this is where it all begins! Graduate school is an exciting time because everything is up to you and your success is completely entwined with the level of effort you input. So, from now on, the sky truly is the limit.

 

Graduate school is also a very challenging endeavor, sure to be filled with myriad questions. Thus, if you need any advice, feel a desire to rant or just need to ask a question, the following people are great resources:

 

Person Role Email Phone Ext.
Cliff Ross Department Chair cliff.ross@unf.edu x1853
Judy Ochrietor Assistant Chair j.ochrietor@unf.edu x2827
Matt Gilg Graduate Chair mgilg@unf.edu x1949
Amy Keagy Teaching Lab Manager amy.keagy@unf.edu x1796
Kennedy Bommarito Research Lab Manager k.bommarito@unf.edu x2174
Michelle Davis Office Manager Michelle.davis@unf.edu x5628
Melanie Chirino Administrative Secretary m.chirino@unf.edu x2830

 

Besides these individuals, the best resources you will probably have are your fellow colleagues and major advisor, so never be afraid to seek advice from the more established graduate students, your advisor, other faculty or staff. The department is here to help you.

 

Remember that while this is an exciting time, it is also a very trying one. Gone are the days of laissez-faire schedules and summer/winter vacations. Graduate students, especially those pursuing the M.S., are expected to put a lot of hours into their work, and, as such, disciplined dedication is paramount. However rigorous this may sound, it is also exciting, for now you can make your own mark as you begin crafting your contribution to the scientific body of knowledge. So, let us know how we can help you realize your ambitions, and, remember, you should feel empowered, as your success is entirely up to you!

 

In addition to this guide, you are advised to read the UNF Graduate School Student Handbook as it provides general information applicable to ALL graduate students regardless of their programs of study. While the Biology Graduate Student Handbook contains valuable information specifically related to graduate studies in Biology at UNF, the Graduate School Student Handbook addresses policies, procedures and resources related to graduate studies in general at UNF. It is your responsibility to review the information both in this handbook and in the Graduate School Student Handbook as you will be held responsible for abiding by its content. 


Getting Started

Degrees Offered

Department Responsibilities

Graduate Student Guidelines and Policies

Graduate Student Checklist