Skip to Main Content

Faculty & Staff Appreciation Breakfast

The 2018 Faculty and Staff Appreciation Breakfast is scheduled for 7:00-9:30 am on 9/7/18 in the Osprey Cafe (building 16). To register for the breakfast, go to:

Convocation Fall 2018

Lazzara Performance Hall
Friday, September 7, 2018

10:00 a.m.

The University of North Florida's 47th Annual Fall Convocation is a celebration of the accomplishments of many of our colleagues and friends. It is an opportunity to hear remarks from President Szymanski as well as a time to recognize the achievements of our faculty in the areas of International Service, International Leadership, Teaching, Scholarship, Service, and Advising. Another highlight of this program is the honoring of UNF's 41st Distinguished Professor, Adel El Safty, School of Engineering, College of Computing, Engineering and Construction.  

Convocation Program



 Provost's Welcome:
Pamela S. Chally, Interim Provost 

 Presidential Remarks 

David Szymanski, President

Presentation of Awards:

Pamela Chally, Interim Provost and Vice President, Academic Affairs Affairs

 David Fenner, Faculty Association President  


Presentation of Distinguished Professor Award:

 Catherine Christie, Distinguished Professor, 2017

Distinguished Professor Address:

Adel El Safty, School of Engineering

2018 Awardees:

Award      Awardee
2018 Distinguished Professor Award    Adel El Safty (Engineering)
2018 Distinguished Professor Runner-up Award   Sherif Elfayoumy (Computing)
2018 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards      
Deborah Owen (Public Health)
Diane Tanner (Accounting and Finance)
Joshua Melko (Chemistry)
Jennifer Lieberman (English)
Norman Harry Rothschild (History)
Michelle DeDeo (Mathematics and Statistics)
Erin Bennett (Music)
Jenny Stuber (Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work)
Ching-Hua Chuan (Computing)
Stephen Stagon (Engineering) 
2018 Outstanding Graduate Teaching Awards   Christopher Leone (Psychology) Karthikeyan Umapathy (Computing)
2018 Outstanding Adjunct Teaching Awards
Nicole Nelson (Clinical and Applied Movement Sciences)
Amy Keagy (Biology)
Michael Mastronicola (Music)
Michael Taylor (Music)
2018 Outstanding Scholarship Awards   Mina Baliamoune (Economics)
Jennifer Hager (Art and Design)
Carolyn Stone (Leadership, School Counseling and Sport Management)  
2018 Outstanding Service Awards   Cheryl Frohlich (Accounting and Finance)  Otilia Salmon (Foundations and Secondary Education)
2018 Outstanding International Leadership Awards  Shira Schwam-Baird (Languages, Literatures, and Cultures)
Emma Apatu (Public Health)  
2018 Outstanding International Service Award - Staff   Michael Boyles (Center for Instruction and Research Technology)
2018  Outstanding Undergraduate Advising Award   Kelly Marton (Coggin College of Business)
2018 Presidential Diversity and Inclusion Award             Carolyne Ali-Khan (Foundations and Secondary Education)
2018 Outstanding Faculty Community-Engaged Scholarship Award     Jody Nicholson-Bell (Psychology)