Skip to Main Content

Faculty & Staff Appreciation Breakfast

Thank you to all who attended the 2017 Faculty and Staff Appreciation Breakfast. Below is a link to the photos that were taken at this year’s photo booth. Feel free to download your photos.

Convocation Fall 2017

Lazzara Performance Hall
Friday, August 25, 2017

10:00 a.m.

The University of North Florida's 46th Annual Fall Convocation is a celebration of the accomplishments of many of our colleagues and friends. It is an opportunity to hear President Delaney's State of the University address.  Convocation has traditionally also been a time to recognize the achievements of our faculty in the areas of International Service, International Leadership, Teaching, Scholarship, Service, and Advising. Another highlight of this program is the honoring of UNF's 40th Distinguished Professor, Catherine Christie, Department of Nutrition and Dietetics, Brooks College of Health.  

Convocation Program  



 Provost's Welcome:
Earle C. Traynham, Provost 

 State of the University Address: 

  John A. Delaney, President

Presentation of Awards:  

Mauricio Gonzalez, Vice President, Student and International Affairs

 Radha Pyati, Faculty Association President  


Presentation of Distinguished Professor Award:

 C. Dominik Guess, Distinguished Professor, 2016

Distinguished Professor Address: 

Catherine Christie, Department of Nutrition and Dietetics

2017 Awardees (read bios)

Award      Awardee

2017 Distinguished Professor Award 

Catherine Christie (Nutrition and Dietetics)


2017 Distinguished Professor Runner-up Award

Adel K. El Safty (Civil Engineering)


2017 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards      

Vanessa Cruz (Art and Design)
Brandi Denison (Philosophy and Religious Studies)
Diane Denslow (Management
Maria Fernandez Cifuentes (Languages, Literatures, and Cultures) 
Joshua Gellers (Political Science and Public Administration)
Jennifer Hager (Art and Design)
Corinne Labyak (Nutrition and Dietetics)
Jamie Moon (Biology)
John Nuszkowski (Mechanical Engineering)

Heather Truelove (Psychology)


2017 Outstanding Graduate Teaching Awards

James Churilla (Clinical and Applied Movement Sciences)

Katrina Hall (Childhood Education, Literacy, and TESOL)

2017 Outstanding Adjunct Teaching Awards
David Blanton (English)
Nicholas Eastham (Education)
Nell Robinson  (Nutrition and Dietetics)
D. Lance Vickery (Art and Design)

2017 Outstanding Scholarship Awards

Sanjay Ahuja (Computing))
Denise I. Bossy (History)
Kenneth Laali (Chemistry)


2017 Outstanding Service Awards

John Hatle (Biology)

Paul Eason (Mechanical Engineering)

2017 Outstanding International Leadership Awards

 Sue Syverud (Exceptional, Deaf, and Interpreter Education)
Judy Comeaux (Nursing)




2017 Outstanding International Service Award - Staff

Bruce Turner (Academic Center for Excellence)


2017  Outstanding Undergraduate Advising Award

Elizabeth Peter (Hicks Honors College)


2017 Presidential Diversity and Inclusion Award



Jennifer Lieberman (English)



2017 Outstanding Faculty Community-Engaged Scholarship Award    

Dan Richard (Psychology)