Convocation Fall 2013

 Lazzara Performance Hall
Monday, September 23, 2013

10:00 am


The University of North Florida's 42nd Annual Fall Convocation is a celebration of the accomplishments of many of our colleagues and friends. It is an opportunity to hear President Delaney's State of the University address, as well as the Provost's remarks on the efforts we will make this coming year to strengthen and refine our mission and values.  Convocation has traditionally also been a time to recognize the achievements of our faculty in the areas of International Service, International Leadership, Teaching, Scholarship, Service, and Advising. Another highlight of this program is the honoring of UNF 's 36th Distinguished Professor, Judith Rodriguez, Department of Nutrition and Dietetics, Brooks College of Health. 


Convocation Program  



Provost's Welcome:

Earle C. Traynham, Interim Provost 


State of the University Address:

John A. Delaney, President


Presentation of Awards:  

Mauricio Gonzalez, Vice President, Student and International Affairs

 Gordon F.  Rakita, Faculty Association President  


Presentation of Distinguished Professor Award:

Mina Baliamoune, Distinguished Professor, 2012
 (In Dr. Baliamoune's absence, Dr. Pamela Chally will present the award)


Distinguished Professor Address:

 Judith C. Rodriguez, Department of Nutrition and Dietetics


2012-13 Awardees




2013 Distinguished Professor Award 


Judith C. Rodriguez(Nutrition and Dietetics)


2013 Distinguished Professor Runner-up Award


Jeffrey E. Michelman(Accounting and Finance)


2013 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards


Mark Ari (English)


Krzysztof K. Biernacki (Music)


Richard H. Chant (Foundations and Secondary Education)

D. Rob Haley (Public Health)

Louanne B. Hawkins (Honors)

Stephen Heywood (Art and Design)

Clarence B. Hines (Music)

Lori Lange (Psychology)


Pamela A. Monteleone (English)


David Waddell (Biology)


2013 Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award


Jeffrey E. Michelman (Accounting and Finance)

Sherry L. Shaw (Exceptional, Deaf, and Interpreter Education)


2013 Outstanding Scholarship Awards


Michele J. Moore (Public Health)

Dag E. Naslund (Management)

Adel K. El Safty (Engineering)


2013 Outstanding Service Awards


Scott H. Hochwald (Mathematics and Statistics)

Katherine M. Robinson (Nursing)

      2013 Outstanding International Leadership Award  

Pieter de Jong (Accounting and Finance)

Adel El Safty (Civil Engineering)


2013 Outstanding International Service Award


Melinda Rojas

Academic Center for Excellence


2013 Outstanding Undergraduate Advising Award


Greshka German-Stuart (Arts and Sciences)


 2013 Presidential Diversity and Inclusion Award 





              Individual Winner  

Philip L. Green (Parents and Families Program)

              Organizational Winner      

Women's Center



2013 Presidential Diversity and Inclusion Research Award



Delores D. Truesdell and Judith Rodriguez (Nutrition and Dietetics)

Lynne Carroll (Psychology)

       2013 Outstanding Faculty Community-Engaged Scholarship Award      

Barbara J. Kruger (Nursing)