Skip to Main Content

Council of Chairs

The Council of Chairs consists of all Department Chairs and School Directors. The Council serves as a forum for Chairs and Directors to discuss issues and concerns that affect them, their departments/schools, faculty and students. In addition, the Council utilizes its collective wisdom and experience to inform policy-making at various levels at UNF.


The University of North Florida Chair's Manual, drafted by the Council of Chairs and accessed by clicking on the links below, is intended to provide a quick resource and reference guide for new and returning department chairs. The manual does not represent official university policy, but refers to policies throughout the text.


Chair's Manual 2011

Chair's Manual Appendix

Members, 2018-19

Chair: Mitch Haney, Philosophy and Religious Studies

Brooks College of Health:

  • Dr. Li Loriz, Director, School of Nursing
  • Dr. Lauri Wright: Chair, Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Dr. Michele Moore: Chair, Public Health
  • Dr. Mei Zhao: Chair, Health Administration
  • Dr. Joel Beam: Chair, Clinical and Applied Movement Sciences

Coggin College of Business:

  • Dr. David Jaeger: Chair, Dept. of Accounting & Finance
  • Dr. Albert Loh: Chair, Dept. of Economics and Geography
  • Dr. Lakshmi Goel: Chair, Dept. of Management
  • Dr. Reham Eltantawy: Chair, Dept. of Marketing and Logistics

College of Arts & Sciences:

  • Dr. Debra Murphy: Chair, Department of Art and Design
  • Dr. Cliff Ross: Chair, Department of Biology
  • Dr. Bryan Knuckley: Chair, Dept. of Chemistry
  • Dr. John Parmelee: Chair, Dept. of Communication
  • Dr. Brenda Vose: Chair, Dept. of Criminology and Criminal Justice
  • Dr. Keith Cartwright: Chair, Dept. of English
  • Dr. David Sheffler: Chair, Dept. of History
  • Dr. Richard Patterson: Chair, Dept of Mathematics & Statistics
  • Dr. Randy Tinnin: Director, School of Music
  • Dr. Mitchell Haney: Chair, Dept. of Philosophy & Religious Studies
  • Dr. Greg Wurtz: Chair, Dept of Physics
  • Dr. Natasha Christie, Chair, Dept. of Political Science and Public Administration
  • Dr. Lori Lange: Chair, Dept. of Psychology
  • Dr. Robert (Buzz) Thunen: Chair, Dept of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work
  • Dr. Patricia Geesey: Chair, Dept. of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

College of Education & Human Services:

  • Dr. Paul Parkison: Chair, Dept. of Childhood Education, Literacy, and TESOL
  • Dr. Paul Parkison: Interim Chair, Dept. of Foundations and Secondary Education
  • Dr. Elizabeth Gregg: Chair, Department of Leadership, School Counseling, and Sport Management
  • Dr. Janice Seabrooks-Blackmore: Chair, Dept. of Exceptional, Deaf, and Interpreter Education

College of Computing, Engineering and Construction:

  • Dr. Sherif Elfayoumy: Director, School of Computing
  • Dr. Maged Malek: Chair, Dept of Construction Management
  • Dr. Osama Jadaan: Director, School of Engineering