Press Release for Wednesday, May 12, 2010

UNF Coggin College Recognizes Distinguished Community Leaders

Joanna Norris, Assistant Director

Department of Media Relations and Events

(904) 620-2102


The Coggin College of Business at the University of North Florida recognized three individuals today during the 13th Annual Prime F. Osborn III Distinguished Business Leaders Award Luncheon for their continuing career achievements. The awards luncheon was held at the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront.

Corporate sponsors of this year’s event were UPS, PSS World Medical, Northwestern Mutual, The Florida Times-Union and The Jacksonville Bank.

The 2010 award recipients include Dr. Robert I. Lufrano, Ronald A. Autrey and Dr. Steven K. Paulson. Lufrano and Autrey were awarded the Distinguished Business Leader award, while Paulson received the Distinguished Professor award.

“This annual event celebrates successful leaders who have exhibited integrity, strong ethical values and character, making them exceptional role models,” said Dr. John McAllister, dean of the Coggin College of Business.


Lufrano joined Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Florida (BCBSF) in 1990, where he is currently chairman of the board of directors and serves as the company’s chief executive officer. He is a member of the board of directors of several health industry organizations, including America’s Health Insurance Plans BCBSF and the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association. He also serves on the Board of Trustees for the University of North Florida Foundation.

Autrey has served as president of Miller Electric Company since 2004. As the fourth leader of an 82-year-old company, he has led Miller Electric’s expansion throughout the Southeastern U.S., more than tripling revenue and net worth. His community involvement includes serving as the current chair of Jacksonville University’s Board of Trustees, past chair of the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce and member of the newly-formed Jacksonville Civic Council.

Paulson joined the UNF faculty in 1980, where he holds the title Blanche and Luther Coggin Professor of Management. He has received several awards, including the UNF Distinguished Professor Award for his accomplishments in scholarship, teaching and public service. He received his doctorate in sociology from Iowa State University, which brings a unique perspective to his teaching in the fields of business ethics, international business and organizational theory.

The Prime F. Osborn III Distinguished Business Leaders Award was established in 1998 by UNF’s Coggin College of Business as an annual award to recognize the long-term career achievements of individuals who provide leadership in business and the local community. Qualifications for these honorees include success in business, significant contributions to community quality of life and a commitment to ethical practices.

The award has been named in honor of the late Prime F. Osborn III, whose long career in the railway industry was noted as much for service to mankind as it was for business acumen. Prime Osborn was known throughout the nation as a person of character, integrity and high ethical standards.

With more than 3,800 students, the Coggin College’s mission is to educate and develop business professionals through rigorous, relevant accredited degree programs offered by faculty devoted to student learning and engaged in scholarly activities.

Since 1976, the Coggin College of Business has been accredited by AACSB—only one in five business schools are awarded the accreditation, which honors the best business schools in the world. The AACSB is the world leader in accreditation for business education.