Press Release for Wednesday, March 26, 2003

UNF Presidential Candidates Announced



(904) 620-2140

The University of North Florida’s Presidential Search Committee received the initial candidate list for University president from the Board of Trustees’ search firm Baker-Parker on Wednesday, March 26.

The committee will meet again Tuesday, April 1, at 2 p.m. at the University Center to review initial applications and receive any additional applications.

The committee will meet April 7 to select about five candidates to bring to campus. Those selected will have one-day visits tentatively scheduled for the week of April 21. During the visits, candidates will have the opportunity to meet with students, faculty and staff as well as representatives of the Jacksonville community.

The search committee will then recommend a candidate or candidates to the full Board of Trustees. The board will determine the final candidates who will make a second visit to the campus.

The initial candidates are:

-- Stan L. Albrecht, executive vice president and provost, Utah State University (Logan, Utah)

-- Dan Angel, president , Marshall University (Huntington, W. Va.)

-- Lloyd W. Benjamin III, president, Indiana State University (Terre Haute, Ind.)

-- Roger W. Bowen, former president and chief executive, Milwaukee Public Museum

-- Wilson G. Bradshaw, president, Metropolitan State University (St. Paul, Minn.)

-- Jeremy D. Brown, rector (president), Florida State University, Panama

-- John A. Delaney, mayor, city of Jacksonville

-- Thomas R. Hanley, dean of engineering, Speed Scientific School, University of Louisville (Louisville, Ky.)

-- William W. Harmon, senior vice president, University of Virginia (Charlottesville, Va.)

-- Terry L. Hickey, senior vice president and provost, University of Akron (Akron, Ohio)

-- David R. Hiley, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs, University of New Hampshire (Durham, N.H.)

-- Todd S. Hutton, president, Utica College (Utica, N.Y.)

-- Harold G. Jeffcoat, president and chief executive, Texas Wesleyan University (Fort Worth, Texas)

-- Arthur T. Johnson, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs, University of Maryland Baltimore County (Catonsville, Md.)

-- Gary S. Krahenbuhl, senior vice president and deputy provost, Arizona State University (Tempe, Ariz.)

-- Robert W. Kustra, president, Midwestern Higher Education Commission (Minnesota)

-- Perry D. Moore, provost and senior vice president, Wright State University (Dayton, Ohio)

-- Lois Muir, provost, University of Montana (Missoula, Mont.)

-- David “Rodney” Smith, president and chief executive, Ramapo College of New Jersey (Mahwah, N.J.)

-- G. Warren Smith II, president, Slippery Rock University (Slippery Rock, Penn.)

- UNF -