University of North Florida
Board of Trustees

  • Meeting
September 18, 2008
University Center at 9:30 a.m.

Trustees in Attendance

Dr. Edythe Abdullah, Mr. John Barnes, Mr. Luther Coggin, Mr. Wilfredo Gonzalez, Mr. Hugh Greene, Mrs. Wanyonyi Kendrick, Mrs. Joy Korman, Dr. Katheryn Robinson, Dr. Bruce Taylor, Mr. Kevin Twomey

Trustees Absent

Mrs. Toni Crawford, Mrs. Ann Hicks, Mrs. Joan Newton

Item 1 Call to Order

Chair Taylor called the meeting to order.

Item 2 Chair’s Report

Chair Taylor offered appreciation to everyone for their participation in the presidential evaluation.

Item 3 Approval of Presidential Evaluation and Compensation

Chair Taylor lead a discussion on presidential evaluation and compensation under the 2007-2008 contract and stated that President Delaney had done an outstanding job in every respect. Subsequent comments from all trustees were uniformly positive.


Trustees provided individual input and Chair Taylor told the Board he would prepare a written evaluation based on their input.


After considering his self-report and the input from individual Board members, a MOTION was made to award President Delaney the maximum performance bonus allowed in the current contract. The MOTION was seconded and approved unanimously.


Following the vote, Chair Taylor discussed the fact that Dr. Terry McTaggart had completed a compensation study comparing President Delaney’s contract to presidential compensation packages from other institutions. At the Board’s November workshop, Chancellor MacTaggart will be presenting a proposal for a contract that was based on this study.  During the brief conversation on the study it was pointed out that President Delaney had refused to accept salary increases over the previous three years due, in part, to State budget shortfalls.

Item 4 Adjournment

Chair Taylor adjourned the meeting.