Agenda Item FA 13-36

Submitted by the Executive Committee

Sociology and Anthropology Department Name Changed Request

10/03/13: Passed

10/10/13: Approved



August 28, 2013


To: Barbara Hetrick, Dean*
College of Arts and Sciences
From: Krista Paulsen, Chair
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Subject: Formal Request for Department Name Change


The University of North Florida's Department of Sociology and Anthropology formally requests to change its name to the "Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work."


This change reflects the addition of a third degree program to the Department, the Bachelor of Social Work (BSW), which began enrolling students in fall 2013. Students looking for a degree in Social Work need to know that the BSW is available at UNF, and that the program is as highly regarded and fully developed as the two other degree programs in our department. This is indeed the case, as three of our 17 full-time faculty are now assigned to the Social Work program, and an 18th faculty position, for which we are searching this year, will be assigned to Social Work as well. The name change will also draw positive attention to the Department from community members who have been eager to see Social Work become part of UNF's curriculum.


The new name, "Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work," is common at other US institutions where these three social science disciplines are combined in one department. These include Kansas State University, Texas Tech, Auburn University and the University of Dayton.


Perhaps most importantly, our faculty unanimously support this change, as indicated by a vote held at our Fall Workshop on August 20, 2013.


In sum, we as a Department request permission to officially change our name to the Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work, as this:

  • Communicates the three degree programs and disciplines housed in the Department;
  • Indicates the equivalent statuses of the three programs and disciplines;
  • Reflects national naming conventions for similarly constituted departments; and
  • Is fully supported by all faculty.


*COAS Dean Barbara Hetrick endorsed this request.  It will recognize the addition of the three major components.