Skip to Main Content

Accreditations and Recognitions

Since 2008, the Office of the Vice President for Student and International Affairs has been recognizing individuals within the Division and UNF partners who exemplify the UNF Values through their actions and work ethic.


The University of North Florida is committed to values that promote the welfare and positive transformation of individuals, communities, and societies.  We value:

  • the pursuit of truth and knowledge carried out in the spirit of intellectual and artistic freedom;
  • ethical conduct;
  • community engagement;
  • diversity;
  • responsibility to the natural environment; and
  • mutual respect and civility.

2017 Winners 

Maureen “Mo” Baker, Student Media/Spinnaker (Truth and Knowledge)

Bill Strudel, Police and Public Safety (Ethical Conduct)

Tara Rowe, THRIVE Program (Community Engagement)

Ashley Ballard, Recreation and Wellness (Natural Environment)

Caron Johnson, Military and Veterans Resource Center (Mutual Respect and Civility)

Brandi Winfrey, Department of Diversity Initiatives (Diversity)


2016 Winners

Diane Stover, Military and Veterans Resource Center (Truth and Knowledge)

Maurisha Bishop, Victim Advocacy (Ethical Conduct)

Dennis Holler, Housing and Residence Life (Community Engagement)

Kevin Anderson, Ogier Gardens (Respect for the Natural Environment)

Jarrod Culliver, Student Wellness Complex (Mutual Respect and Civility)

Brock Ertel, Student Union Administration (Diversity)

2015 Winners 

Ray Wikstrom, Military and Veterans Resource Center (Pursuit of Truth and Knowledge)

Dawn Knipe, Student Government (Ethical Conduct)

Kaitlin Legg, LGBT Resource Center (Promoting Diversity)

Jennifer MirandaFraternity & Sorority Life (Community Engagement)

Celeste Watkins, Student Government (Mutual Respect and Civility)

Amy Costa, Campus Recreation (Respect for the Natural Environment)

Jake Fitzroy, Campus Recreation (Respect for the Natural Environment)

Special Champion of Student Affairs Award 

Vernon Payne, Marketing & Publications

2014 Winners

Jahkahli Johnson, Housing and Residence Life (Pursuit of Truth and Knowledge)

Samantha Lento, Housing and Residence Life (Respect for the Natural Environment)

Christine Malek, Student Affairs Budget Director (Ethical Conduct)
Oupa Seane, Intercultural Center for Peace Director (Promoting Diversity)

Rachael McNeal, Interfaith Center (Community Engagement)

Heather Kite, Campus Recreation (Mutual Respect and Civility)

UNF partners who have helped and supported Student Affairs Initiatives
Felicia George and Mike Fritz, Human Resources 

2013 Winners

Kacie McFate, Student Wellness Center (Pursuit of Truth and Knowledge)
Justin Sipes, Fraternity & Sorority Life (Ethical Conduct)
Tarah Trueblood, Interfaith Center (Promoting Diversity)
Billy ParkerStudent Union Operations (Community Engagement)
Dianne Dawood,Taylor Leadership Institute (Mutual Respect and Civility)


2012 Winners  

Jim Baur, Student Wellness Center (Pursuit of Truth and Knowledge)

Kathy Klein, Parent & Family Programs (Ethical Conduct)

Natalie Nguyen, LGBT Resource Center (Promoting Diversity)

Jeanne Middleton, Parent & Family Programs (Community Engagement)

Carmen Franz, Health Promotion - Organic Garden (Responsibility to the Natural Environment)

John Frank, Institute for Values, Community & Leadership (Mutual Respect and Civility)


Special Champion of Student Affairs Award

Miguel Gabertan, Controller's Office


2011 Winners  

Amanda Mueller, Housing and Residence Life (Pursuit of Truth and Knowledge)

Tommy White, University Police Department (Ethical Conduct)

Judith Jerome, Military and Veterans Resource Center (Community Engagement)

Helen Smith, Housing and Residence Life (Mutual Respect)

Ruth Lopez, International Center (Promoting Diversity)


Special Awards 

Floyd Hurst, University Controller


2010 Winners  

Bob Boyle, Housing and Residence Life (Pursuit of Truth and Knowledge)

Tammy Oliver, University Police Department (Ethical Conduct)

Ryan Miller, LGBT Resource Center (Community Engagement)

Tom VanSchoor, Student Ombudsman (Mutual Respect)

Lorna Bautista, Intercultural Center for PEACE (Promoting Diversity)

Special Awards

Alan Marsh, Interfaith Advisory Council (Champion for Student Affairs)

Chuck Hubbuch, Facilities Planning (Champion for Student Affairs)


2009 Winners

Cara Lourcey, Office of the Vice President for Student and International Affairs (Mutual Respect)

Kathryn Dumouchel, Housing and Residence Life (Ethical Conduct)

Vivian Senior, Career Services (Community Engagement)

Chris Bender, Intercultural Center for PEACE (Promoting Diversity)

Maria Castro, Career Services (Pursuit of Truth and Knowledge)

John Barnes & Mike Saathoff, Student Government (Respect for Natural Environment)

Katrina, (Respect for Natural Environment)


2008 Winners  

Laurel Kendall, Student Government (Ethical Conduct)

DeeAnne Crookham, Women’s Center (Pursuit of Truth and Knowledge)

Michael Kennedy, Health Promotions (Mutual Respect)

Ayolane Halusky, Campus Recreation (Respect for Natural Environment)

Kara Tucker, Disabilities Resource Center (Community Engagement)

Richmond Wynn, Counseling Center (Promoting Diversity)

Special Awards

Chief Foxworth, University Police Department (Exemplary Achievement)

Rich Elmore, Facilities Planning (Champion for Student Affairs)


Departments with Accreditation

University Police Department

CFA Logo

The Commission for Florida Law Enforcement Accreditation.


The proud men and women of the University of North Florida Police Department successfully achieved full compliance with the accreditation standards as set forth by the Commission for Florida Law Enforcement Accreditation.


Accreditation creates a forum in which police and citizens work together to control and prevent crime. This partnership will help citizens to understand the challenges that confront law enforcement. The UPD will, in turn, receive clear direction from the UNF community about its expectations. Thus, a common set of goals and objectives will be arrived at and implemented. Read more at UPD's Accreditation page.


For more information, visit the Commission for Florida Law Enforcement Accreditation

Child Development Research Center

NAEYC 25 Logo

The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)

The Child Development Research Center is accredited by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC). NAEYC provide the early childhood education field with a credible means by which to identify and meet standards of excellence. NAEYC Accreditation gained international recognition for its visible support of high-quality early child programs.


For more information, visit NAEYC.

Counseling Center


The International Association of Counseling Services (IACS)

The Counseling Center is accredited by the International Association of Counseling Services (IACS). IACS is the accreditation association for university and college counseling centers and public and provate counseling agencies. The association provides comprehensive guidelines that address issues such as a counseling center's relationship to its campus, its ethical standards and functions, and personnel requirements.


For more information, visit IACS.