Skip to Main Content

Press Release for Thursday, June 14, 2007

UNF Alumni Association Board Elects New Leadership

Contact: Joanna Norris, Assistant Director
Department of Media Relations and Events
(904) 620-2102

The University of North Florida Alumni Association recently elected new officers for its Board of Directors for 2007-2008. The UNF Alumni Association is a non-profit organization designed to foster, maintain and support a mutually beneficial relationship between alumni and the University.

Michael Tanner was elected the new president of the Board. He graduated from UNF in 1991 with a Bachelor in Business Administration and in 1994 with a Master of Accountancy. Tanner is vice president and Jacksonville market leader for CFO Services, Inc., an Accretive Solutions Company. The vice president position went to Joby Birr III, who graduated in 1995 with a Bachelor of Arts degree. He is an associate with Akerman Senterfitt Attorneys at Law.

Kerry Dunning, who received her Master of Science in Health in 1990, was elected secretary/treasurer. She is a healthcare consultant with Dunning Consulting. The immediate past president of the Board is Fred Culvyhouse. He graduated from UNF with a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1974 and is director of administrative services at Florida Community College of Jacksonville.

The UNF Alumni Association also awarded its Impact Awards for 2006-2007, which is given to an Alumni Association Board Member who steps up and takes the lead on a project or initiative, making a positive impact on the Association, the University and its constituents.
Award recipients are as follows: Lori Baylor, sales and marketing associate, Sawgrass Asset Management L.L.C.; David Birkelbach, project manager, Elkins Constructors; and Robert Raesemann, president, Raesemann Enterprises, Inc.

UNF’s Alumni Association Board of Directors is comprised of UNF alumni and governs the Association by setting policy, providing guidance for Association programs and activities as well as representing the interests of University alumni.