Skip to Main Content

Florida Teacher Certification Examinations (FTCE)

General Details

The FTCE is composed of three tests:

  1. Professional Education,

  2. General Knowledge, and

  3. Subject Area Exams.

There are four testing sites in the Greater Jacksonville Area:

  • UNF
  • FSCJ (Downtown Campus)
  • Pearson Testing Center located at 8380 Baymeadows Rd. Suite # 11
  • Pearson Testing Center located at 8659 Baypine Rd.

One would need to register online and pay the appropriate fees to Pearson to take any part of the FTCE.


The most current information from the Florida Department of Education/ Bureau of Educator Certification regarding the Florida Teacher Certification Exam:

  1. Test PEd: Professional Education - Candidates applying for a Professional Certificate may need to take the Professional Education Test. See your Official Statement of Status of Eligibility.
    • This multiple-choice test assesses general knowledge of pedagogy and professional practices and consists of approximately 120 items.
    • A revised, updated version of the Professional Education Test was administered for the first time in July 2003.
  2. Test SAE: Subject Area Exam - These are exams for degreed academic and some vocational subject areas. These exams measure content area knowledge, usually in a multiple-choice format. English 6-12, Middle Grades English 5-9, French K-12, German K-12, and Spanish K-12 also require an essay. Spanish K-12 and French K-12 are administered in a language lab, and German K-12 has an interview. Speech 6-12 has a videotaped portion. Candidates applying for a Professional Certificate and those adding a subject area to a Professional Certificate must pass a subject area exam in the field(s) in which they seek certification. (Current programs offered at UNF)
  3. General Knowledge Test (GK) - The required basic skills test for teacher certification is the General Knowledge Test for which you can register using the application in the registration bulletin. The General Knowledge Test is a basic skills achievement test containing four subtests: Mathematics (45 multiple-choice items), Reading (40 multiple-choice, passage-based items), and English Language Skills (40 multiple-choice items), and Essay.