Ongoing Community Service Opportunities

Organization Info Purpose and Tasks Contact Category
1st Place Sports         Help at running events with water stations and registration

Doug Alred 

(904) 731-1900  

doug@1stplacesports.com  

Sports
Ability Housing Landscaping, fence repair, pressure washing, house painting, office work

Micheal Cochran       

(904) 359-9650   

mcochran@abilityhousing.org  

Manual Labor

ACE- UNF Tutoring

 

 

 

 

Achievers for Life

Tutor UNF students

 

 

 

 

Mentor/Tutor middle school students in the Duval county schools                    

Michele Boyette        

(904) 620-2774
ace@unf.edu
UNF - Building 2, Room 1200

 

Leigh Merrill

(904)338-9096

lmerrill@cisjax.org

Tutoring                                            

 

 

 

 

Tutoring

       
A.D.L.E.V. Inc. Putting together business plans, creating videocasts, working with microsoft office programs

Velda Jackson 

(704) 890-1372     

vjackson2008@live.com  

Social Work
American Cancer Society Office support: answer phones, greet patients, assist with projects. M-F 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Lauren Heinen  

(904) 391-3611         

lauren.heinen@cancer.org  

Office
 American Diabetes Association Raise diabetes awareness, fundraise, help at special events

Mandy Intravaia       

(904) 730-7200 ext. 3103     

Aintravaia@diabetes.org  

Awareness Fundraising
American Lung Association  Educate school children what to do during an asthma attack, facilitate support groups for seniors Ciara Walton
(904) 520-7119
cwalton@lungfla.org  
 Health Awareness
American Heart Association  Office support, event planning, fundraisers   Allison Misora
(904) 256-5720
Allison.misora@heart.org  
Office Fundraising
American Red Cross Office support, teach safety & first aid classes, disaster response

Laurel D'Agnillo 

(904) 358-8091 ext. 1835 

volunteering@nefloridaredcross.org  

Health
AmeriCorps Mentoring  Mentor middle school girls;just give 2 hours a month Ruth Spencer

(904) 388-4653 x1149   

rspencer@girlscouts-gateway.org  

Youth Mentoring 
Arc Jacksonville Assist with Club Arc- games, music, dancing, food Lauren Bethune
(904)620-4804
coeoct@unf.edu  
Youth Disabilities
Audubon Society Wildlife monitoring, ecological restoration, research projects

Pete Johnson    

(904) 536-4806

petejohnson71@bellsouth.net  

Environment
Beaches Habitat for Humanity Build homes for families in need

Sarah Rutkowski        

(904) 241-1222         

sarah@beacheshabitat.org  

Manual Labor
Best Buddies Jacksonville Mentor people with disabilities, help with fundraisers and special events

Mary White   

(904) 296-0501 ext. 402

marywhite@bestbuddies.org  

Mentoring Disabilities
Big Brothers Big Sisters
Mentoring, playing with kids, promoting a positive attitude

Kelly Quinlivan  

(904) 727-9797 ext. 251   

kquinlivan@bbbsnefl.org  

Youth Mentoring 
Boselli Foundation Afterschool program: assisting students ages 5 to 15 with tutoring, extracurriculars and sports

 Jen Vihrachoff
(904) 704-6212

Jennifer@bodellifoundation.com
   

Youth Tutoring Mentoring Sports
Bridge of Northeast Florida Tutoring at risk youth, birthday parties, collection drives

Judith Brown  

(904) 354-7799 ext. 137 

Youth Tutoring
Bridges to Sudan Fundraise, teach English to refugees using Rosetta Stone, office support

Liz Granite       

(914) 564-3102 or (904) 731-7143    

egranite84@gmail.com  

Tutoring Fundraising
Brooks Rehabilitation Hospital Answer call lights, patient assistance during meals, process leave requests

Sandra Williamson     

(904) 345-7661 

sandra.williamson@brookshealth.org  

Health
Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary  Building new enclosures, den boxes, feed platforms, painting, weeding, landscaping, thrift store help  Kim Kyle
(904) 874-1421
Kim@cattyshack.com  
 Animals Manual Labor
City Rescue Mission Serving meals, painting/remodeling houses, office support, mentoring, tutoring, ministry

Kathi Crothers  

(904) 421-5157  

kcrothers@crmjax.org  

Social Work
Clara White Mission Serve meals, food drives

Ju'Coby Pittman         

(904) 354-4162 

jpittman@clarawhitemission.org  

Social Work
Clare Bridge Visits with patients, reading, playing games, pen-pals, cooking, pet therapy, Bible study

Cindy Higgs       

(904) 636-9455        

chiggs@brokdaleliving.com

Elderly
Community Connections Help kids with homework, organize projects and after school activities. (Mon-Thurs 3-5:30 p.m.)

Antoinette Rodriguez  

(904) 318-7556

arodriguez@communityconnectionsjax.org  

Youth Tutoring
Companions Ministry Prepare and deliver food for elderly; coordinate nursing home activities

Doug Dean       

(850) 391-9256 

dhd10@fsu.edu  

Elderly
Cummer Museum of Arts & Gardens Gardening, office support, leading tours, maintenance projects

Wendy Stanley         

(904) 899-6007    

wstanley@cummer.org  

Arts
Daniel Kids Mentoring, teach hobbies, tutoring, holiday parties, collection drives

Stephanie Cain      

(904) 296-1055 ext. 1007 

scain@danielkids.org  

Youth
Davis Performing Arts Work with youth teaching dance, music, drama, film, television

Mary Davis-Johnson    

(904) 303-3193        

davisperformingarts@yahoo.com  

Arts Youth
Delphonse Center Academic tutoring, prevention of risk-taking behaviors

Jerfson Delphonse  

(904) 514-3602

Delphonse.Center@gmail.com  

Youth
Dignity U Wear Sort & donate clothes, raise awareness

Cindy Sadler        

(904) 636-9455     

csadler@dignityuwear.org  

Clothing
Downtown Ecumenical Services Council Clothing Ministry Fill clothing request orders, sort and restock clothing inventory

Beth Wilson   

(904) 358-0809  

clothing_desc@bellsouth.net  

Clothing
Duval County Department of Health HIV prevention Research study: collect and type data, HIV counseling

Kristina Wilson    

(904) 253-1493      

Kristina_Wilson@doh.state.fl.us  

Health
Duval Schools Tutoring, chaperoning trips

Pinedale Elementary      

Tiffany Cheff    

(904) 381-7490

Youth Tutoring
Elder Source Assist with phone work, data entry,  helping seniors and adults with disabilities find available assistance Gary Mallory
(904) 391-6658
Malloryg@elderaffairs.org  
 Elderly Social Work
Empowerment Resources Mentoring, tutoring, chaperoning, marketing

Elexia Coleman-Moss

(904) 268-8287

elexia@empowermentresourcesinc.org  

Youth Social Work
English as a 2nd Language- UNF Tutor international students at UNF Every other Tuesday at 3pm 

Tia Rivera     

(904) 620-4281        

tia.rivera@unf.edu or elp@unf.edu

UNF- Building 14E, Room 1726

Tutoring
Family Nurturing Center Tutor k-12 students, assist with reading programs, visitation and exchanges; property maintenance

Leigh Brooks        

(904) 389-4244 ext. 201  

leigh@fncflorida.org  

Youth Social Work
First Coast No More Homeless Pets Office support, tabling at events, fundraising, special events, pet clinic

Dianne Wiles  

(904) 520-7902

dwiles@fcnmhp.org  

Animals Office
Florida Long-term Care Ombudsman Program  Speak to residents in long-term care facilities on the First Coast and advocate on their behalf  Michael Milliken
(904) 391-3942
millikenm@elderaffairs.org  
 Advocacy Health
Girls Inc.  Tutor and mentor girls, help with coordinating special projects  Meg Balke
(904) 731-9933
balkem@girlsincjax.org  
 Tutoring Mentoring 
Goodwill Sort and organize clothes

Patti Morgan

(904) 384-1361   

pmorgan@goodwilljax.org  

Clothing
Guardian ad Litem Advocate in court for children who are alleged victims of abuse/neglect

Mary Hay    

(904) 630-1200       

mary.hay@gal.fl.gov  

Social Work
HabiJax Restore Framing, roofing, landscaping, lot clean-up, insulation, windows

(904) 798-4529

info@habijax.org  

Manual Labor
Haven Hospice Talk to patients, fundraising,  office support, public speaking

Sandra Francis

(904) 733-9818

sjfrancis@havenhospice.org  

Social Work Fundraising
Healing Victor Mentor special needs children and develop relationships

Mariana         

(904) 563-4909         

sonrise.jax@gmail.com

Youth Disabilities
Heartland Hospice Patient care giving, read books, play games and spend time with elderly

Marisol Riddel   

(904) 737-2553     

4705officestaff17@hcr-manorcare.com  

Elderly Social Work
H.O.P.E. Diaper Bank Separate diapers and prepare special events Tancy Campbell
(904) 233-4624
info@hopediaperbank.org  
Social Work
Hope Haven Playing, chaperoning trips, arts and crafts, office support

Krysta Bonner      

(904) 346-5100 ext. 248

KrystaB@hope-haven.org  

Youth Disabilities
Jax Arboretum & Gardens Trail maintenance, construction, parking, campfires

Carlton Higginbotham    

(904) 210-7035       

director@jacksonvillearboretum.org  

Environment
Jacksonville Humane Society Office support, dog trainer, adoption assistant, kennel & clinic support, groomer

Lynn Williams        

(904) 725-8766 ext. 206   

volunteer@jaxhumane.org  

Animals
Jacksonville Zoo Educators, camps, marketing, keeper assistants, guides, office support

(904) 757-4463 ext. 176  

volunteer@jacksonvillezoo.org  

Animals
Jacksonville Speech & Hearing Center Inc.  Help at speech and hearing screenings, advocate for hearight health, painting the facility  Tom Rogerson
(904) 355-3403
Volunteers@shcjax.org  
 Disabilities Health
Jacksonville Symphony Welcome and usher guests to their seats prior to concerts

Kimberly Gustafson    

(904) 807-1003    

kgustafson@jaxsymphony.org  

Arts
MAYO Clinic Talk to patients, assist staff, deliver flowers & mail, front desk

Charlotte Montelongo  

(904) 956-0082  

montelongo.charlotte@mayo.edu  

Health Office
Monique Burr Foundation Help with special projects and activities for children

Lynn Layton 

(904) 642-0210  

llayton@moniqueburrfoundation.org

Youth
Mt. Olive Branch P.B. Church  Weekly educational tutoring program Edward Dawkins
(904) 655-9929
edwakins4@aol.com  
 Mentoring 
New Heights Raise awareness & enhance the lives of individuals with disabilities

Paul F. Bussell        

(904) 396-1462 ext. 110     

pbussell@cpnef.org  

Disabilities Awareness
Office of the Public Defender Help with felony intake interviews at the Pre-Trial Detention Center

Andrew Ewing         

(904) 630-1579  

andrew@pd4.coj.net  

Social Work
On Campus Transition- UNF Social mentor & academic tutor for students with special needs

Lauren Bethune
(904)620-4804
coeoct@unf.edu  
UNF- Building 3/Room 1302

Mentoring, Disabilities, Fitness Mentor
Quigley House

Beautification: paint shelter rooms 

Admin: filing, scanning, e-mails   Instruct at a Head Start Center     

Thrift Store: sorting, tagging clothes      

Jessica Hames       

(904) 579-4057      

volunteer.quigleyhouse@yahoo.com  

Social Work Clothing
Real$ense Prosperity Campaign Prepare income taxes, become a financial education instructor

Linda Hemphill      

(904) 390-3237        

lindah@uwnefl.org  

Finance
Ready to Achieve Mentoring Program Mentors (21 & up) pair with high school students with disabilities to provide positive support

Brittany O'Grady   

(904) 399-8484 ext. 314         

brittanyo@cilj.com  

MentoringYouth 
River City Clinic Assist physicians, check in patients, landscaping around the clinic, advertising and fundraising

Lesleigh Box, MD   

(904) 735-4459        

lesleighbox@hotmail.com  

Health, Social Work, Manual Labor
Riverside Arts Market Assisting vendors, set-up, directing traffic

(906) 607-1960

volunteer.RAM@gmail.com  

Arts
Ronald McDonald House Host in the Family Room, answer phones, serve dinner, be a speaker

Carol Harrison     

(904) 807-4663 

charrison@rmhcjax.com  

Social Work
Second Harvest Food Bank Sorting and packaging food supplies

Jessie Sanders      

(904) 517-5560      

jsanders@wenourishhope.org  

Social Work
Spina Bifida

Contact families, general office work, help with fundraisers;

M-F 8 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Marina Quinones  

(904) 697-3466         

mquinone@nemours.org 

Office Fundraising
Shands Provide general support to patients and families

Sandy Mallard         

(904) 244-4665      

sandra.mallard@jax.ufl.edu  

Health
St. Joseph Homeownership  Help with answering phones, scanning files and outreach activities  LaTasha Green-Cobb
(904) 294.4386 LGreenCobb@SJHMBlackBottom.com  
 Office Work
Sulzbacher Center Cook & serve food

Allison Vega        

(904) 394-8082        

AllisonVega@tscjax.org 

Social Work
Universal Scholar Foundation  Help at USF's expos, events and local activities.  Heiko Winkler
(772) 643-6121 Support@UniversalScholarFoundation.org  
 Youth Fundraising
Wildlife Sanctuary of UNF  Help with environmental education programs  Elizabeth Peter
(904) 620-5951
rectrail@unf.edu  
 Environment Youth
WJCT Radio Reading Service

Broadcast readings of news, information and entertainment for visually challenged;

everyday 8 a.m. - 2 p.m.

Ginger Brown

(904) 358-6308

gbrown@wjct.org  

Literacy
Wolfson Children's Hospital  Volunteer as the hospital's mascot visiting patients, attending sporting events, fundraising events, schools  Stacey Mueller
(904) 202-2919
stacey.mueller@bmcjax.com  
 Awareness Health
Women's Center of Jax On-Call advocate, raise sexual violence awareness, tutoring

Deb Phillians     

(904) 722-3000 

mail@womenscenterofjax.org  

Social Work
Women's Center of UNF Advocates staff the 24-hour Crisis Helpline to provide after hour assistance to the campus community

Jeannetta Mock  

(904) 620-2528   

womenctr@unf.edu

UNF- Building 2/ Room 2100

Social Work

YMCA Reads

After school tutoring to struggling readers

Margi Henson 

(904) 571-9938         

mhenson@FirstCoastYMCA.org  

Literacy