Faculty

Hans-Herbert Koegler

Professor of Philosophy and Chair
Dr. Phil., University of Frankfurt
Specialties: Hermeneutics, Philosophy of Language, Recent European Philosophy, Philosophy of Social Science, Social and Political Theory
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2329
Website: http://www.unf.edu/~hkoegler/  
E-mail: hkoegler@unf.edu  

 

 

Bryan Bannon 

University of Memphis 

Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy 

Environmental Philosophy, Ethics, Contemporary European Philosophy, Modern Philosophy 

E-mail:  b.bannon@unf.edu  

 

Andrew Buchwalter

John A. Delaney Presidential Professor of Philosophy and Coordinator of the Philosophy Graduate Programs
Ph.D., Boston University
Specialties: Late Modern Philosophy, Classical and Contemporary German Philosophy, Social, Political, and Legal Philosophy
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2337
Website: http://www.unf.edu/~abuchwal/  
E-mail: abuchwal@unf.edu  

 

Paul Carelli

Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Kentucky
Specialties: Ancient Philosophy, Ethics, Logic, History of Modern Philosophy, Asian Philosophy
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2335
E-mail: paul.carelli@unf.edu  

 

Brandi Denison

Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
Ph.D., University of North Carolina
Specialties: American Religions, Native American Religions, Racialization, Gender, Violence, and Memory
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2335
E-mail: b.denison@unf.edu  

 

David Fenner

Professor of Philosophy and Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences
Ph.D., University of Miami
Specialties: Aesthetics, Ethics, Environmental Ethics, Philosophy of Education, and Metaphysics
Office: Social Sciences Building, Building 53, Room 3115
Website: http://www.unf.edu/~dfenner/  
E-mail: dfenner@unf.edu  

 

Erinn Gilson

Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Memphis
Specialties: Feminist Philosophy, Contemporary European Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2347
E-mail: e.gilson@unf.edu  
 

Mitch Haney

Associate Professor of Philosophy and Co-Director of the Florida Blue Center for Ethics 

Ph.D., University of Memphis

Specialties: Theoretical Ethics, Applied Ethics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind

Office:  Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2353

Website: http://www.unf.edu/~mhaney/ 

E-mail:  mhaney@unf.edu 

 

Julie Ingersoll

Associate Professor of Religious Studies and Religious Studies Program Coordinator  

Ph.D., University of California at Santa Barbara

Specialties: Religion and American Culture, Religion and Politics, and Religion and Gender

Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2333

Website: http://www.unf.edu/~jingerso/ 

E-mail:  jingerso@unf.edu 

 

Jonathan Matheson 

Assistant Professor of Philosophy 

Ph.D., University of Rochester

Specialties: Epistemology, Ethics, Philosophy of Religion

Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2335

Website: http://www.unf.edu/~j.matheson/index.html 

E-mail:  j.matheson@unf.edu  

 

Sarah Mattice 

Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
Specialties: Comparative Philosophy, Asian Philosophy, and Aesthetics East and West
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2353
E-mail: s.mattice@unf.edu 

 

Alissa Hurwitz Swota

Associate Professor of Philosophy and Co-Director of the Florida Blue Center for Ethics 

Ph.D., University at Albany, State University of New York

Specialities: Biomedical Ethics, Clinical Ethics, Philosophy and Law

Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2349

E-mail:  aswota@unf.ed 

  

Emeritus Faculty

A. David Kline 

Professor Emeritus of Philosophy 

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Specialties: Ethics and Biotechnology, Philosophy of Science, Educational Ethics

E-mail:  akline@unf.edu  

 

John C. Maraldo  

Professor Emeritus of Philosophy; UNF Distinguished Professor, 1994 

Dr.Phil., University of Munich

Specialties: Asian and Comparative Philosophy, Japanese Philosophy, Phenomenology, Philosophy of Self, and Philosophy of Religion

E-mail:  jmaraldo@unf.edu  

 

Ellen Wagner 

Associate Professor Emeritus of Philosophy 

Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder

Specialties: Plato, Ancient Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind, and Epistemology

E-mail:  ewagner@unf.edu