Graduate Contacts

The Graduate School

Graduate School

University of North Florida

Jacksonville, FL 32224

Office:  J.J. Daniel Hall, Building 1, Room 2000

Phone:  (904) 620-1360

Fax:  (904) 620-1362

E-mail: graduateschool@unf.edu

Website:  http://www.unf.edu/graduateschool  

The Philosophy Graduate Faculty


  

 Andrew Buchwalter
Professor of Philosophy and Graduate Coordinator
Ph.D., Boston University. 
Hegel, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, Globalization Theory 
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2337

Phone: (904) 620-1155
E-mail: abuchwal@unf.edu

Paul Carelli
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Kentucky
Ancient Philosophy, Ethics, Moral Psychology, and Asian Thought.
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2355

Phone: (904) 620-1330
E-mail: paul.carelli@unf.edu

 

David E. W. Fenner 
Professor of Philosophy and COAS Associate Dean
Ph.D., University of Miami. 
Aesthetics, Ethics, Environmental Ethics, Philosophy of Education, and Metaphysics. 
Office: Social Sciences Building, Building 51, Room 3301

Phone: (904) 620-2580
E-mail: dfenner@unf.edu

 

Erinn Gilson 
Assistant Professor of Philosophy 
Ph.D., University of Memphis. 
Feminist Philosophy, Contemporary European Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy. 
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2347

Phone: (904) 620-1330
E-mail: e.gilson@unf.edu

 

Mitchell Haney 
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Memphis 
Theoretical Ethics, Applied Ethics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind. 
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2353

Phone: (904) 620-1330
E-mail: mhaney@unf.edu  

 

A. David Kline
Professor of Philosophy Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin. 
Ethics and Biotechnology, Philosophy of Science, Educational Ethics. 
E-mail: akline@unf.edu

 

 

Hans-Herbert Kögler 
Professor of Philosophy and Chair 
Ph.D., University of Frankfurt
Hermeneutics, Philosophy of Language, Recent European Philosophy, Philosophy of Social Science, and Cultural Studies. 
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2357

Phone: (904) 620-1187
E-mail: hkoegler@unf.edu

 


John C. Maraldo
Professor of Philosophy Emeritus

UNF Distinguished Professor, 1994
Dr. Phil., University of Munich.

Asian and Comparative Philosophy, Japanese Philosophy, Phenomenology, Philosophy of Self, and Philosophy of Religion

E-mail: jmaraldo@unf.edu  

 

Jonathan Matheson 
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Rochester 
Ethics, Philosophy of Religion
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2335

Phone: (904) 620-1330
E-mail: j.matheson@unf.edu

 

Sarah Mattice

 Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Ph.D., University of Hawaii

Comparative Philosophy, Asian Philosophy, and Aesthetics East and West
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2353

Phone: (904) 620-1330
Email: s.mattice@unf.edu

 

Alissa Hurwitz Swota
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Ph.D., University at Albany, State University of New York 
Biomedical Ethics, Clinical Ethics, Philosophy and Law 
Office: Honors Hall, Building 10, Room 2349

Phone: (904) 620-1091
E-mail: aswota@unf.edu

 

 

Ellen Wagner
Associate Professor of Philosophy Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder

Plato, Ancient Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind, and Epistemology
E-mail: ewagner@unf.edu