English Faculty

Mark Ari, MFA (Brooklyn College, The City University of New York)

Instructor
E-mail: mari@unf.edu
Website: www.arifiles.com
Office: Building 8, Room 2107
Areas of expertise: Writing (Particularly Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, and Song); Anti-literature; Form and Practice in the Application of Algebra, Fire and Wildcards in Creative Acts; Radical Jewish Culture

 

Mary Baron, Ph.D. (University of Illinois)

Professor of English
E-mail: mbaron@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2617
Areas of expertise: British Renaissance Literature, Adolescent Literature, Children's Literature; Collaborative Learning in the Classroom; Computer Enhanced Education; Writing, Poetry

 

James Beasley, Ph.D. (Purdue University)

Associate Professor of English
E-mail: james.beasley@unf.edu

Website: www.unf.edu/~james.beasley
Office: Building 8, Room 2629
Areas of expertise: Composition and Rhetoric, History of Rhetoric and Composition

 

Jeanette Berger, Ph.D. (Indiana University of Pennsylvania)

Instructor

E-mail: j.berger@unf.edu
Office: Building 8, Room 2341
Areas of expertise: Linguistics, Rhetoric, Composition Pedagogy

  

Keith Cartwright, Ph.D. (Indiana University)

Professor of English
E-mail: kcartwri@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2621
Areas of expertise: African American, Caribbean, and Southern Literature; African Diaspora Studies; West African Expressive Traditions; Post-Colonial and Gender Studies; Creative Writing (Poetry)

 

John Chapman, Ph.D. (University of Florida)

Instructor
E-mail: chaj0038@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2545

 

Frederick Dale, M.A. (University of North Florida)

Instructor
E-mail: fdale@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2627

Nicholas de Villiers, Ph.D. (University of Minnesota)

Associate Professor of English and Film
E-mail: n.devilliers@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2625
Areas of expertise: Film Theory, Gender Studies, Philosophy, Queer Theory, Autobiography

 

Timothy Donovan, Ph.D. (Pennsylvania State University)

Associate Professor of English
E-mail: tdonovan@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2219
Areas of expertise: Rhetoric and Composition, Literacy and Mediacy Studies, Critical and Literary Theory

 

Joseph Flowers, M.A. (University of North Florida)

Instructor
E-mail: jflowers@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2521

D. Christopher Gabbard, Ph.D. (Stanford University)

Associate Professor of English
E-mail: cgabbard@unf.edu

Website: www.unf.edu/~cgabbard

Office: Building 8, Room 2215
Areas of expertise: British Literature and Culture of "The Long Eighteenth Century" (1660-1800); Disability and Normalcy in English and American Literature; Aphra Behn, Daniel Defoe, Samuel Johnson; Gender in Restoration and Eighteenth Century Literature; Early Modern Travel Writing

 

Laura Heffernan, Ph.D. (University of Pennsylvania)

Assistant Professor

 E-mail: l.heffernan@unf.edu
Office: Building 8, Room 2637

Areas of expertise: British Modernism, Anglophone Postcolonial Literature, Joyce, Gender Studies

 

Linda Howell, M.A. (University of North Florida)

Director of Writing and Assessment

E-mail: lhowell@unf.edu
Office: Building 8, Room 2345
Areas of expertise: Composition, Rhetoric, New Media

 

Marnie Jones, Ph.D. (Northwestern University)

Professor of English

E-mail: mjones@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2649

Areas of expertise: Nineteenth & Twentieth Century British Literature and Culture; Religion in American Literature, Politics & Culture; Literature written for Children and Young Adults; Experiential and Community-based learning.

 

A.Samuel Kimball, Ph.D. (University of Florida)

Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
E-mail: skimball@unf.edu
Office: Building 8, Room 2605
Areas of expertise: Nineteenth-Century American Literature, Literary Theory (Cognitive, Deconstructive, Psychoanalytic)

 

Tru Leverette, Ph.D. (University of Florida)

Associate Professor of English
E-mail: tleveret@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2427
Areas of expertise: African-American, Multicultural, and Mixed Race Literatures; Gender, Cultural, and Mixed Race Studies

 

Jennifer Lieberman, Ph.D. (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) 

Assistant Professor of English

Email: j.lieberman@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2647

Areas of expertise: American Literature and Culture of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries, Literary Realism and Naturalism, the History of Technology, Science and Technology Studies, Critical Pedagogy, and Gender and Women’s Studies.

 

Clark Lunberry, Ph.D. (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)

Associate Professor of English
E-mail: clunberr@unf.edu

Website: www.unf.edu/~clunberr/Lunberry

Office: Building 8, Room 2645
Areas of expertise: Dramatic Literature and Performance Studies, Modern and Postmodern Literature and the Visual Arts, and Creative Non-fiction

 

Jason Mauro, Ph.D. (University of Connecticut)

Associate Professor of English

E-mail: jmauro@unf.edu
Office: Building 8, Room 2635
Areas of expertise: American Literature, Robert Frost, Film, Psychological Approaches to Literature, Creative Writing

 

Brenda Maxey-Billings, M.A. (University of North Florida)

Instructor
E-mail: brenda.maxey-billings@unf.edu

Website: www.unf.edu/~brenda.maxey-billings
Office: Building 8, Room 2543

Alex Menocal, Ph.D. (University of Florida)

Instructor
E-mail: amenocal@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2219

Pamela Monteleone, Ph.D. (State University of New York, Buffalo)

Associate Professor of English
E-mail: pmontele@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2303
Areas of expertise: Shakespeare; Dramatic Literature and Theory; Renaissance to Contemporary (Emphasis on American) Play Production and Playwriting; Film; Popular Culture

 

Betsy Nies, Ph.D. (University of Florida)

 Graduate Program Coordinator, Associate Professor of English
E-mail: bnies@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2653
Areas of expertise: Composition; Children's and Adolescent Literature; American Literature; Multi-Cultural Literature

 

Marcus Pactor, M.F.A. (Texas State University - San Marcos)

Instructor
E-mail: mpactor@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2115
   

Jillian Smith, Ph.D. (Pennsylvania State University)

Associate Professor of English and Film
E-mail: jlsmith@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, 2403
Areas of expertise: American Literature; Visual Culture; Film

 

Brian Striar, Ph.D. (Claremont Graduate School)

Department Chair, Associate Professor of English
E-mail: bstriar@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2605
Areas of expertise: Classical and Renaissance Literatures, Translation, and Classical Influences upon English and Romance Literatures

 

Russell Turney, M.A. (George Mason University)

Instructor
E-mail: rturney@unf.edu

Office: Building 8, Room 2639

  

Bart Welling, Ph.D. (University of Virginia)

Associate Profesor of English
E-mail: bhwellin@unf.edu

Website: www.unf.edu/~bhwellin

Office: Building 8, Room 2633
Areas of expertise: Twentieth Century Literature and Culture of the United States; Textual and Bibliographic Studies; Ecocriticism and Green Culture Studies; Southern and Faulkner Studies; Literature of the Americas

 

Michael Wiley, Ph.D. (New York University)

Professor of English
E-mail: mwiley@unf.edu
Office:Arts and Sciences Building 8, Room 2641
Areas of expertise: British Romantic Literature; Literary Theory; Spatial Studies in Literature

 

Emeritus Faculty

Richard Bizot, Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor of English
E-mail: rbizot@unf.edu

Areas of expertise: Irish Studies

 

Gary L. Harmon, Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor of English
E-mail: gharmon@unf.edu

 

William Slaughter, Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor of English
E-mail: wrs@unf.edu

Website: Mudlark 

Allen Tilley, Ph.D.

Emeritus Professor of English
E-mail: atilley@unf.edu