Press Release for Tuesday, May 2, 2006

Coggin College Recognizes Distinguished Community Leaders

Contact: Joanna Norris, Assistant Director
Department of Media Relations and Events
(904) 620-2102

The Coggin College of Business at the University of North Florida will recognize three individuals at the 9th Annual Prime F. Osborn III Distinguished Business Leaders Award Luncheon for their continuing career achievements. The awards luncheon will be held at noon on Wednesday, May 17, at The River Club. Corporate sponsors of this event include Allstate Workplace Division, Brooks Rehabilitation, The Florida Times-Union, The Jacksonville Bank and PSS World Medical.

The 2006 award recipients include Edward Burr, Lawrence DuBow and Dr. Reza Vaghefi. Burr and DuBow will be awarded the Distinguished Business Leader award, while Vaghefi, a UNF charter faculty member, will receive the Distinguished Professor award.

“This year’s winners are all successful leaders who have exhibited integrity, strong ethical values and character, making them exceptional role models in the corporate community,” said Dr. John McAllister, dean of the Coggin College of Business. “Jacksonville is a better place because of their work and their passions.”

Burr has served as president and CEO of LandMar since its founding. With his leadership, LandMar is positioned as an industry leader, widely respected for staying ahead of the curve. His innumerable strengths extend beyond his business to community service, including his role as the 2006 chairman of the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce, president of the Jacksonville Country Day School Board as well as many non-profit boards. Burr has also served on the UNF Foundation Board and the Coggin College's Business Advisory Council.

DuBow has spent more than 40 years in pharmaceuticals and the wholesale drug industry, which led to the creation of HMS Sales and Marketing. Since selling HMS to Ranbaxy Pharmaceuticals, he continues to consult and is a partner in the Jacksonville Jaguars. A passionate volunteer, DuBow provides his time and talent to many organizations, including the Community Foundation, UNF, the Jacksonville Housing Authority and the Alexis de Tocqueville Society of the United Way of Northeast Florida.

Vaghefi has enriched the lives of generations of students through teaching and prolific research shared with prestigious universities around the world. He initiated the International Business Program, which is one of the most significant programs in the Coggin College. With numerous teaching and research awards, Vaghefi has also been a true leader, serving in numerous capacities at UNF and humanitarian organizations in the Jacksonville area for many years.

The Prime F. Osborn III Distinguished Business Leaders Award was established in 1998 by UNF’s Coggin College of Business as an annual award to recognize the long-term career achievements of individuals who provide leadership in business and the local community. Qualifications for these honorees include success in business, significant contributions to community quality of life and a commitment to ethical practices.

The award has been named in honor of the late Prime F. Osborn III, whose long career in the railway industry was noted as much for service to mankind as it was for business acumen. Prime Osborn was known throughout the nation as a person of character, integrity and high ethical standards.