Press Release for Wednesday, February 15, 2006

UNF Accepts Nominations for Gladys Prior Teaching Awards

Contact: Joanna Norris, Assistant Director
Department of Media Relations and Events
(904) 620-2102

The College of Education and Human Services at the University of North Florida is accepting nominations for the 2006 Gladys Prior Awards for Teaching Excellence. The two major criteria for selection of teachers for this prestigious award are sustained teaching excellence and sustained inspiration of students.

To be eligible for the award, teachers must have at least 10 years of teaching experience in a Duval County public or private school. The award carries a $12,000 cash prize to the recipients, who are free to use the funds in any way they wish. The College of Education and Human Services awards up to four Gladys Prior Awards annually.

Any person (colleague, administrator, student, parent or community member) may nominate a teacher for the award. The nominee should write a letter describing how the teacher inspires students through excellent teaching. Teachers may not nominate themselves and campaigning for a teacher via submission of multiple nomination letters is discouraged.

The Gladys Prior Awards are made possible by a generous gift from Gilchrist Berg, a Jacksonville investor who created the awards to honor his fourth grade teacher.

For more information about the Gladys Prior Teaching Awards, contact Phyllis Haeseler at (904) 620-2520. Nomination letters (to be received no later than Friday, March 17, at 5:00 p.m.) should be sent to: Dr. Larry G. Daniel, Office of the Dean, College of Education and Human Services, University of North Florida, 4567 St. Johns Bluff Rd. S., Jacksonville, FL 32224.