Press Release for Monday, February 10, 2003

UNF Presidential Search Committee Named




(904) 620-2140

UNF Board of Trustees Chair Carol Thompson has appointed 11 members to the Presidential Search Committee to guide the board through the selection of a new president for the University of North Florida. The Search Committee will be responsible for reviewing and interviewing candidates presented by the search firm of Baker-Parker Inc. Names are expected to be presented in mid-March.


The Presidential Search Committee members are:

-- Dr. Terry Bowen, trustee and president of the Faculty Association.

-- Dr. Pam Chally, dean of the College of Health.

-- T. O'Neal Douglas, trustee and chairman of the Presidential Search Committee.

-- Mauricio Gonzalez, vice president of Student and International Affairs.

-- Steve Halverson, trustee, and president and chief executive of The Haskell Co.

-- Ann Hicks, trustee and co-chair of UNF’s Access to Excellence campaign.

-- Wanyonyi Kendrick, a trustee, UNF alumna and vice president of technology services at JEA.

-- Lynn Pappas, immediate past chair of the Jacksonville Regional Chamber of Commerce.

-- Hank Rogers, trustee and Student Government president.

-- Board of Trustees Chair Carol Thompson, executive vice president of Baptist Health, and Howard Serkin, president of the UNF Foundation, will serve as ex-officio members.

- 30 -