Women's History Month


About Women’s History Month


Before the 1970s, the topic of women’s history was largely missing from general public consciousness. To address this situation, the Education Task Force of the Sonoma County (Calif.) Commission on the Status of Women initiated a “Women’s History Week” celebration in 1978 and chose the week of March 8 to coincide with International Women’s Day.


The celebration was met with positive response, and schools began to host their own Women’s History Week programs. The next year, leaders from the California group shared their project at a Women’s History Institute at Sarah Lawrence College. Other participants not only became determined to begin their own local Women’s History Week projects, they also agreed to support an effort to have Congress declare a national Women’s History Week.


In 1981, Sen. Orrin Hatch, R-Utah, and Rep. Barbara Mikulski, D-Md., co-sponsored the first Joint Congressional Resolution proclaiming a “Women’s History Week.”


In 1987, the National Women’s History Project petitioned Congress to expand the celebration to the entire month of March. Since then, the National Women’s History Month Resolution has been approved every year with bipartisan support in both the House and Senate.

Susan B. Anthony Award Nominations   

UNF students, faculty and staff are eligible for the award, which is given each year to one member of the University community who has made significant contributions to the women of UNF. 


Award nominees should be individuals who actively promote women’s growth at UNF, provide a positive role model for the women of UNF, work to improve the position of women on campus through advocacy and education, and exhibit qualities of leadership on campus. Nominees whose contributions may otherwise go unrecognized are particularly welcome, self-nominations are acceptable. Current UNF Women’s Center paid staff are not eligible for the award.


Eligible nominees will be asked to submit additional supporting materials. For more information, contact the Women’s Center at (904) 620-2528.

Susan B. Anthony Award

Dr. Christos Lampropoulos, a University of North Florida associate professor of chemistry, received the 2017 Susan B. Anthony award which was presented by Dr. Cheryl Frohlich, a professor of finance, who was the 2016 recipient.  


Every spring, the University of North Florida Women's Center presents the Susan B. Anthony Award to an individual within the campus community who actively promotes women's growth at UNF, provides a positive role model for women on campus, works to improve the position of women at UNF through advocacy and education, and exhibits qualities of leadership on campus. Students, faculty and staff of UNF are eligible for the award.


The recipient of the award is announced at the annual Women's History Month Luncheon, hosted by the Women's Center in March.


Dr. Lampropoulos joined the faculty at the University of North Florida in August of 2011 as an assistant professor of chemistry. 

Dr. Lampropoulos received his doctorate in Physical-Inorganic Chemistry and Master of Science degree in Chemistry at the University of Florida. 

He was the recipient of the 2015 UNF Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award.

Dr. Lampropoulos is a scholar, educator, and a staunch supporter of advancing gender equality in the areas of science, technology, engineering and math. He is the first male recipient of the award. 


Lampropoulos joins a prestigious group of past Susan B. Anthony Award recipients: 

  • 2016 - Dr. Cheryl Frolich 
  • 2015 -Shannon Italia 
  • 2014 - Dr. Jennifer Wesely 
  • 2013 - Kathryn Bouziane 
  • 2012 - Idania (Ida) Rojas Gropper 
  • 2011 - Dr. Tes Tuason 
  • 2010 - Dr. Dale Clifford 
  • 2009 - Dr. Kristine Webb 
  • 2008 - Dr. Annabel Brooks 
  • 2007 - Lindsey Morrison 
  • 2006 - Dr. Elizabeth Furdell 
  • 2005 - Dr. Joyce Jones 
  • 2004 - Dr. Elinor Scheirer 
  • 2003 - Dr. Berrin Beasley 
  • 2002 - Dr. Sharon Wilburn 
  • 2001 - Dr. Terry DiNuzzo 
  • 2000 - Dr. Pamela Chally 
  • 1999 - Donna Marie Vigilante 
  • 1998 - Dr. Betty Meers 
  • 1997 - Dr. Carolyn Williams 
  • 1996 - Dr. Bette Soldwedel 
  • 1995 - Dr. Christine Rasche 
  • 1994 - Dr. Susan Wallace 

UNF Women’s History Month Luncheon 

A celebration of Women’s History Month, the luncheon provides a vehicle to celebrate women, their accomplishments and their contributions to society. The Women’s Center also uses the Women’s History Month luncheon to recognize students who have donated their time and talents to the Women’s Center. 


The Women’s History Month Luncheon is in March every year and is open to the public.


UNF Women's Center Women's History Month Scholarship


The $1,000 Women's History Month Scholarship is awarded to a UNF student for outstanding work on campus or the local community that enhances gender equality. The award is funded by the Office of the Vice President of Student and International Affairs. The application deadline for the 2018 Women's History Month Scholarship is now passed.


The eligibility requirements include: current enrollment for at least nine hours for undergraduates or six hours for graduate students; enrolled for two consecutive terms at UNF; a minimum GPA of 2.5 for undergraduates and 3.0 for graduate; and work promoting and/or providing opportunities that create fairness in the way women and men are treated. Applicants are required to submit a signed application, two letters of recommendation, a one-page statement describing work enhancing gender equity and a resume.


The award is presented in March at the Women's History Month Luncheon.