Supreme Court


The Student Government Judiciary consists of seven justices. Out of those seven, a Chief Justice is elected annually to preside over the Office of the Judiciary. It is the duty of these persons to interpret the Student Government Constitution and Statutes. The judiciary also settles disputes or complaints that students may have with Student Government, its agencies, and SG funded clubs. The Judiciary is the final say on issues of noncompliance, judicial complaint, or impeachment. Members gain important experience in the areas of due process and proper judicial procedure. They also represent the student body on the Academic Appeals Committee, Student Conduct, Parking Appeals Board, J-hold and Fee Appeal Committees.


Associate Justices 



Associate Justice

 Jon Rader

 Jon was born in Miami, FL before moving to Jacksonville in 2000. From August 2012 - May 2014, at Florida State College at Jacksonville: Deerwood Center, Jon was elected President of Student Government. As President, Jon represented several issues concerning his students and he also had the exciting opportunity to volunteer as several events around the Jacksonville community. In April 2013, he was elected as the District Four Coordinator for the Florida College System Student Government Association (FCSSGA). In January 2014, as a member of the FCSSGA Executive Board, Jon spoke with U.S. Senators and Representatives in Washington D.C. on issues related to student loans and Pell grants. While in Tallahassee over Spring Break 2014, Jon addressed Governor Rick Scott and his cabinet about the need to maintain affordable tuition and grant in-state tuition for veterans. Jon served in UNF's Student Government as a Senator from Fall 2014-Spring 2015 before being sworn in as a Justice on the Supreme Court on April 13, 2015. He is currently studying Political Science with a minor in Environmental Studies and Public Administration.



Associate Justice

 Cap Mewborne

William (Cap) Mewborne was born in North Carolina but grew up in Atlanta, Georgia before moving to Tallahassee. He attended Lawton Chiles High School and graduated during the spring of 2014 and began attending UNF that fall. Cap participated actively in Boy Scouts and achieved the rank of Eagle Scout in August, 2013. He is a Business Marketing Major and is currently considering adding a minor.



Associate Justice

 Fred Kindelsperger


Fred Kindelsperger is a Jacksonville native, born and raised in northeast Florida. After receiving his Associate of Arts degree at Florida State College at Jacksonville in 2010, Fred began studying at the University of North Florida in the Fine Arts College. In 2013 Fred graduated with his Bachelor of Arts degree in English with a minor in Psychology studies. After a year working in the commercial banking industry, he decided return to school to pursue a master’s degree in Business Administration. In addition to currently serving in the UNF Judicial Branch, Fred also takes leadership roles in the Finance and Investment Society as well as the Graduate Student Organization. Upon graduation, Fred hopes to pursue a career in finance and security analysis.

Kate's Headshot


Associate Justice

 Kate Sanchez


Katherine (Kate) Sanchez is from Key West, Fl. She went to Academy of the Holy Names in Tampa, Fl and began attending UNF fall semester of 2012. She likes to say she is working her way up Florida. In addition to serving in the Judicial branch, Katherine has active leadership roles in two different UNF programs. In 2013 and 2014 she was a facilitator for UNF's Honors program's Colloquium class,  a mandatory class for Honors freshman,  and she was a Site Leader for Ospreys in Action, an alternative spring break trip through the Center for Community-Based Learning. She is majoring in Criminal Justice and minoring in Social Welfare. Katherine is unsure where life will take her after college.