Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch consists of 52 student senate seats consisting of appointed and elected students. Elections, which take place both in the spring and the fall, act as the voice of the student body. They are responsible for allocating and overseeing the $4.5 million dollar Activity and Service Fee Budget. Each senator is required to serve on various committees in the Senate representing different student concerns.


 Kaitlin Ramirez Headshot 2013

Senate President

 Kaitlin Ramirez


 Kaitlin Devi Ramirez grew up in Jacksonville, Florida, where she graduated from Stanton College Preparatory High School with an International Baccalaureate diploma. She started at UNF in the Fall of 2011, studying Economics and History. In her first semester, Kaitlin sought a Senate appointment after reading an influential article in the Spinnaker where she learned about the positive impact Student Government has made for students. Kaitlin serves as an elected Senator, working to improve her school and the student experience. She was awarded the "Rising Star Award" for her work. Kaitlin is very interested in law and government, and has studied both in Newcastle, England as a Fulbright Summer Institute Participant. Kaitlin ultimately plans to attend law school. She prizes UNF for the unparalleled opportunities, and hopes to serve students to the best of her abilities. 



Senate Pro-Tempore/ Constitution and Statues Committee Chairwoman

Shomari Gloster



The Senate President Pro-Tempore assists the Senate President and maintains all Senate and Committee records.



Senate and Committee Schedule - Spring 2014




January 6, 2014


January 13, 2014


January 20, 2014

Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday

January 27, 2014 Senate

February 3, 2014


February 10, 2014


February 17, 2014


February 24, 2014


March 3, 2014 Committee
March 10, 2014 Senate
March 17, 2014 Spring Break
March 24, 2014 Committee
March 31, 2014 Senate
April 7, 2014 Committee
April 14, 2014 Senate


























All Senate Meetings will be scheduled for 6:30 p.m. in the Senate Chambers





Elections and Appointments

5:30 p.m.

John E. Sapp Conference Room

Student Advocacy

6:30 p.m.

John E. Sapp Conference Room

Constitution and Statutes

6:00 p.m.

Senate Chambers

Budget and Allocations

6:30 p.m.

Senate Chambers

University Affairs

7:00 p.m.

John E. Sapp Conference Room



 ***Meeting times and location are subject to change at the purview of the chair.